Research Guides: SLP Speech-Language Pathology Subject Guide: Find Articles

Search Strategies

Welcome to "Find Articles" – your essential hub for exploring scientific research articles. Here, you'll discover a selection of databases and strategic search tips to streamline your research.

Search Tips for Efficient Searching

Specific Keywords: Choose precise terms related to your topic, like Multicultural Competence, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Speech-Language Pathology

Combine Keywords: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine searches, e.g. (Multicultural competence AND Augmentative and Alternative Communication AND speech-language pathology)

Synonyms and Related Terms: Expand your search with related terms or synonyms, such as using ("multicultural competence" OR "cultural diversity" OR "intercultural communication") AND (AAC OR "Augmentative and Alternative Communication" OR "communication aids")

Selecting & Using Keywords

Narrow Your Topic to Specific Keywords and Phrases

Selecting and using keywords effectively is crucial for strategic exploration in research. This section guides you through the process of developing and refining keywords to enhance the precision and breadth of your search results.

Watch the video Selecting & Using Keywords

Databases

Explore the curated selection of Speech-Language Pathology databases

Health & Medical Sciences

PubMed@CSULB Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers. Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window

Psychology & Social Sciences

PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES PsycArticles is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage: 1985 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information in the USA.
- This link opens in a new window
PILOTS Database Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. and includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events 1871 - present. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods (SRM) A research methods tool with links to more than 100,000 pages from books and journals plus new videos on research methods from one of the top publishers of research methodology content. Primary focus is on methodology rather than disciplines, so it can be used across social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

Comprehensive & Specialized Research

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals Online Collection SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Coverage: 1997-present Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library Access to over 1400 online journals from publisher Wiley-Blackwell in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medicine, mathematics, computer science, business, education, environmental science, humanities, law, and psychology. Full page images are available in PDF format and, in some cases, full text in HTML format is also available.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature including journal articles and books, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Streaming Media

Kanopy Streaming Videos Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand More than 20,000 streaming films in 24 subject areas from major producers, including ABC News, BBC, Frontline, National Geographic, NBC News, NOVA, and PBS.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection Contains documentaries and series featuring diverse content in science, culture, history, art, literature, business, economics and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 More than 800 streaming video documentaries in more than 25 academic subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Free Databases

Theses and Dissertations

Locate dissertations or theses from CSULB and other institutions

Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Provides free access to thousands of dissertation and thesis abstracts from universities around the world, and links to full text when freely available.

EBSCO Open Dissertations
Search thousands of open access dissertations
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.

Cited Reference & Bibliographic Searching

Web of Science - How to do a Cited Reference Search

Utilize Web of Science for locating articles citing known works and discover further through the "Times Cited" feature. Dive deeper into the citation network to connect with referenced works and authors, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of your subject area.

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Expand your search with Google Scholar's Citation-Linking for finding articles that cite your source.