It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources for History Research
How to find books, documents, magazine articles, newspaper articles and other first hand or eyewitness accounts.
A broad collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, from ancient times to the present.
Black Abolitionist PapersPrimary source of individual and community activism within the Black abolitionist community. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
Contains digitized early U.S. government documents from 1774-1885 including the American State Papers, early U.S. Serial Set vols, the Congressional Globe, and House & Senate Journals.
Congressional Publications (Proquest)This digital collection includes Congressional hearings, the U.S. Serial Set including maps, Congressional Research Service publications, Committee Prints, and House & Senate Documents and Reports. Certain collections go back to 1789.
Site created by BYU, it provides links to full text historical documents from European countries. Also lists other websites that link to historical document sites for other regions, nations, continents.
History VaultIncludes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
This "is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly... for educational use. Quite extensive, all periods, all regions.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral HistoriesProvides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. ... Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.
Slavery & Antislavery: A Transnational ArchiveThis 4-part archive includes 5.4 million pages of history, including collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., Scholar's EditionContains over 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of full-text documents that focus on U.S. women’s history from 1600-2000. Includes documents related to the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, Woman Suffrage Movement, Civil Rights Movement, and others.
