Research Guides: CSULB Antelope Valley Engineering program: Find Articles/Databases

Databases

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications back to 1950s. Also includes, the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database of computing.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASME Mechanical Engineering This link opens in a new window ASME Mechanical Engineering This database provides access to journals and conference papers from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Use IEEE Xplore to access the full text of IEEE journals, magazines, standards, and conference proceedings. Full text is available for most content from 1988 to present. Covers 1950 to the present. IEEE Xplore allows up to five simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scitation (AIP) This link opens in a new window Access to full text articles, citations and abstracts of journals in physics, astronomy, engineering, acoustics, fluids, plasmas, optics, applied mathematics and more. The majority of the journals are the American Institute of Physics (AIP) titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window The SPIE Digital Library (The International Society for Optical Engineering now simply known as SPIE) is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics covering biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. The database contains all the proceedings papers published from 1962 to date, journal articles and Ebooks published by SPIE; 18,000 new papers are added annually.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

For more databases in engineering check here

Use OneSearch for a preliminary search of a topic or a few good hits.

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window American Society of Metals (ASM) Handbooks Online (in 30 volumes) is the most comprehensive, peer-reviewed, trusted information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
ASM Micrograph Database This link opens in a new window A growing collection of more than 4500 micrograph images and associated data from the American Society of Metals in cooperation with the International Matellographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window Access to active and historical American Society for Testing Materials standards as well as ASTM journals, symposia papers (STP) of importance to all disciplines in engineering including the field of safety and health.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please click on 'Yes, I Agree With the License' to access database
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore includes IEEE standards
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Patents, Inventors and Entrepreneurship
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Jan 31, 2022 60 views this year

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window American Society of Metals (ASM) Handbooks Online (in 30 volumes) is the most comprehensive, peer-reviewed, trusted information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window Business, software, technology and creative skills training from a leading online learning company. Brush up on existing skills or learn new subjects. High-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window

Engineering
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Mar 18, 2024 812 views this year
Biomedical Engineering
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 281 views this year
BIOL Biological Sciences Subject Guide
by Norah DeBellis Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 999 views this year
Health Science
by Michelle DeMars Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 1583 views this year

Chemistry & Biochemistry
by Khue Duong Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 657 views this year

Environmental Science and Policy
by Khue Duong Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 79 views this year

The top three!

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Search over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering.

IEEE Xplore

Use IEEE Xplore to search and to access full text of IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings to which the CSULB Library subscribes.Full text is available for most content from 1988 to present.

ACM Digital Library

The ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library contains citations to all ACM publications and full text for over 40 journals as well as conference proceedings and newsletters and twelve additional publications from ACM Affiliated Organizations.

Using Google Scholar

OneSearch

OneSearch Guides

OneSearch Help

Video Tutorials

Tips for searching the Internet

Instead of providing a long list of relevant websites in engineering, it is more important to know how to critically evaluate what you find on the web.

Ask yourself these questions:

Who wrote this? Can you verify their credentials? Do they work for a company, government agency or a research organizations (look at the website – is it .com, .gov, .edu, .net or .org)
Is there contact information for the author or organization they represent?
Do they authors identify where they obtained the data? This is critical for technical information. It is usually preferable to use verifiable data from standard handbooks etc. rather than finding random information on the web
Is it current information? (may not matter in the case of standard technical data). Does the website have a “last updated” date?
Is the information biased? It may be if it is from a political organization that has an agenda

Having said that, the following meta-websites provide good critically evaluated starting points for your exploration of the Internet:

Best of the Web: Technology

The WWW Virtual Library Engineering

Intute

No longer maintained but still has some good information

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.

Reference

Reserve

Call number

Database

Citation

Abstract

Peer Reviewed

Journal

Reference - Encyclopedias etc. that cannot be checked out

Reserve - Books and other items for courses selected by instructors

Call Number - Number on the spine of a book or journal determining its place on the shelf

Database -searchable list of article titles and abstracts

Citation - identifying information of an article (title, author, etc.)

Abstract - summary of an article found at the beginning and in databases

Peer Reviewed - A premium quality journal article that has been reviewed by others knowledgeable in the field prior to publication

Journal - a published collection of articles (previously in print, now frequently online only)