It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using a database will
help you find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.
PubMed@CSULBProvides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases; when articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Coverage: Medline covers 1940's to present. Updated daily.
MEDLINE (via OVID)The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included.
Coverage: 1951 to present.
CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Coverage: 1937 to present.
Lippincott AdvisorA collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care. Allows users to identify the information they need by topic or category.
PsycINFOPsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.
Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Agricultural and Environmental Science DatabaseAbstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date. Updated monthly.
Global NewsstreamU.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Nutrition Abstracts - Human and ExperimentalNARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
PILOTS DatabaseThe PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Coverage: 1871 - present.
PsycTESTSPsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Web of Science includes the Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions can be found in the library.
Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews provides comprehensive and timely critical reviews written by leading scientists in 31 scientific disciplines. Provides full text reviews from 1996 to date for most titles and is searchable with abstracts for other years.
Cochrane LibraryA collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers.
Coverage: 1996 to present.
Dissertations and ThesesIndexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online.
Coverage: 1637 to date.
ERIC (via ProQuest)References to thousands of educational topics. Provides access to (1) Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), indexing approximately 750 journal and serial publications, and (2) Resources in Education (RIE), covering many different types of documents including lesson plans, research/technical reports, etc.
Coverage: 1966 to present.
ERIC (via EBSCO)References to thousands of Education topics. Provides access to (1) Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), indexing approximately 750 journal and serial publications, and (2) Resources in Education (RIE), which includes lesson plans, research/technical reports, and other documents. Coverage: 1966 to present. Updated monthly.
PsycARTICLESPsycArticles is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Coverage: 1985 to present.
PubgetPubget is a search engine for PDFs in the life sciences. It indexes nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed®. You search it like you would PubMed or Google Scholar. The difference is Pubget gets you the PDF right away.
PubMed CentralPubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.