Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher covers current events and "hot" issues in the news. Each weekly issue provides a summary of the issue, plus the pros-cons, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Coverage: full text 1991 to date
PDF text 1996 to date
Latino American ExperienceThe Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
Opposing ViewpointsOpposing Viewpoints in Context covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. It brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Opposing Viewpoints allows up to 3 simultaneous users.
Chicano DatabaseOver 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. Coverage is in all subject areas, and includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. Coverage: 1965 to present.
ERIC (via EBSCO)References to thousands of Education topics. Provides access to (1) Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), indexing approximately 750 journal and serial publications, and (2) Resources in Education (RIE), which includes lesson plans, research/technical reports, and other documents. Coverage: 1966 to present. Updated monthly.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-presentNewspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
GenderWatch40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color.
Coverage: 1978 to present.
GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
Global NewsstreamU.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over many links to the full-text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
SocINDEX Full TextSocINDEX provides abstracts to articles on topics of abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociology, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1940 to present, with some abstracts back to 1895. Updated monthly.