Research Guides: GeographyGA: Find Books / Ebooks

New Books in Geography

Some recently acquired by CSULB, Check New Books list for others.

Chasing Icebergs : how frozen freshwater can save the planet by M. H. Birkhold
Call Number: GB2405 .B54 2023
ISBN: 1639363432
Geographic information systems in geospatial intelligence by Rustamov, Rustam B
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1838805044
Publication Date: 2020
Metropolitan Research: Methods and Approaches by J. M. Gurr, R. Parr, D. Hardt (Eds)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 3837663108
Publication Date: 2022
Thematic Cartography and Geovisualization by Terry A. Slocum; Robert B. McMaster; Fritz C. Kessler; Hugh H. Howard
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780367712709
Publication Date: 2022
A World Without Hunger: Josué de Castro and the History of Geography. by A. Davies
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1802077200
Publication Date: 2023

Find Reference Books

Do you want a more reliable alternative to Wikipedia? The University Library has many reference books and subject encyclopedias that will help you with your research. This OneSearch Book Catalog Advanced Search will limit your search to reference-type books.

Subject Call Numbers Relevant to Geography

Significant Call Numbers for Geography Are:

G Geography (General); Atlases -- 2nd Floor Library
GA Mathematical geography; Cartography -- 2nd Floor Library
GB Physical geography -- 2nd Floor Library
GE Environmental Sciences -- 2nd Floor Library
GF Human ecology; Anthropogeography -- 2nd Floor Library
HT51 - HT395 Cities; Urban Planning -- 2nd Floor Library

Assists in Finding Books

Log In CSULB Single Sign-On
Reserves
Use this link to find materials placed on Reserve by your instructor.
Location of Materials
Will tell you which call numbers are on which floors and where different kinds of materials are located in the Library.
Book Call Numbers Arranged by Library of Congress System
Learn how books and other materials are organized in the Library.
Other Libraries
Links to other libraries and resources in our area.
WorldCat
Worldwide catalog of over 100 million books held in libraries across America and other countries.

eBooks

eBooks

Ebook Central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions. Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby (previously Overdrive) This link opens in a new window Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window