Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism & Public Relations: JOUR 415

JOUR 415: Gender, Class, and Ethnicity in the Media

Books with an Overview

APA Citation Resources

Get It @ CSULB

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them at the link below: 

Not Available at CSULB?

BeachReach - interlibrary loan heading image

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article. 

You can get to BeachReach from the Get It @ CSULB page when you are searching in the databases.

Need more information on BeachReach? Visit our interlibrary services page.

Finding Articles from Citations

First: Think Critically

Pick a Topic AND Test It

Pick more than one topic to test so you can get an idea of the type and quantity of research available. Here are examples from the various sections of the course (make sure the topic you choose is appropriate for the assignment from your instructor). See the Testing tab for search strategies.

  • How do journalists employ framing to create stereotypes.
  • How did the New York Times cover illegal immigration over a period of two to three weeks.
  • Analyze the public relations or media response to a crisis linked to a dimension of diversity.

Before you choose a final topic, it is important to test a few topics to see what kind of research is available. This will save you lots of time later.

To test your topic ideas, use the OneSearch box on the Library home page.

  • Example #1. A search for framing AND theory AND stereotypes AND news media, would yield these 38,000+ results.
    • A better search is to put "news media" in quotation marks--to search for the phrase. That change, alone, would reduce the number of results to about 8,500.
    • Filtering for peer-reviewed journals, results in about 2,100 results. (See filters to the left of the results.)
    • Filtering for articles from 2000 forward refines the results a bit further.
  • ​Example #2. A search for "New York Times" AND "illegal immigration" (using the quotation marks to search for the phrase), yields these 17,000+ results
    • Filtering for newspaper articles, results in about 7,200 results. (See the filters to the left of the results.)
    • Filtering again for just articles published in 2018 refines the results to 700+. (The shortest timeframe for this filter is a year, but more granular date ranges are available in the databases.)
  • ​Example #2. A search for "public relations" AND crisis AND diversity yields these 56,000+ results.
    • ​Filtering the results for peer-reviewed journals reduces the results to about 12,000 results.
    • Limiting the date range to 2000-2018, refines the results again to 8,600+.
    • Filtering by Subject (on the left) for just those articles about Public Relations gets you down to about 500 results, a good number to start browsing.

These searches are just the BEGINNING. The idea is to give you a sense of whether there is enough written about your topic. If, instead, your search had yielded just 30 or 40 articles, you might want to test further search terms or other topics.

Choosing Keywords

This is the first step in your search. Check out this video, and see examples of search strategies in the Testing Topic Ideas tab under Getting Started.

Researching Your Topic

Start by searching for books on your topic. If you find a book or book chapter on your topic, it will make your research much easier. 

  • Then filter your results for Books, under Resource Type.
  • Then filter your results for books Available in the Library or books with Full-text online.
  • For some topics, you will want to filter your results by Subject.

Next, choose a database (or OneSearch) for scholarly journal articles or newspaper articles. Databases give you more focused research results.

Using the Databases

The databases listed above all have the same functionality, but they search different journals and have slightly different interfaces. The two videos below will walk you through using Academic Search Complete. The examples are from the fields of social work.

Journalism & Public Relations Librarian

Ask Us

Book IconSearch our FAQs

Chat

Feedback on This Page

Please answer this two-question survey to let me know how this page could be improved.