Discussion threads from our first workshop together!
Hot Topics:
Collaboration between units in the library
Improvements to physical space and usage of space in the library
Library as a center of knowledge/campus hub
Interdisciplinary student services
Details of Conversation Topics & Smaller Discussions:
RESULTS FROM BEACH 2030
Card Topics:
Technology
Beach 2030 Comments (7): Services for 3D Printing Technologies, I-Space.
Financial Vision: Software, hardware, staffing to expand hours, VR lab
Outreach:
Beach 2030 Comments (4): Library instruction, smart classrooms, the ability to write on the walls during study, more First Year education
Priority: Increase visibility of information literacy instruction, integration of IL into GE program (via courses like UNIV 111 currently being put forth by the Paideia Fellows)
Financial Vision: Funds for developing curriculum, sustained assessment of student learning, outreach to departments and colleges.
Access
Beach 2030 Comments (5): Disability Access for Library’s website Increase; Alumni & Community access to the Library
Priority: Increased digital and physical accessibility via universal design. Increase access to digital material content for Alumni, to encourage lifelong learning.
Financial Vision: Staffing for expanded hours, ADA compliance, ADA software, additional funds for digital database access by alumni; funding for open source platforms in order to expand and organize open access materials for alumni and community research needs.
Physical Planning: Reconfiguration of study areas to ensure Universal Design
Space
Beach 2030 Comments (11): Increase: Study space, parking space; multiple libraries to lessen transit time between spaces that hold resources
Financial Vision: Software, hardware, staffing to expand hours, VR lab
Physical Planning: Reconfiguring space for Universal Design, alternative furniture, design consulting
Operations
Beach 2030 Comments (9): Increase: Physical Library operational hours
Financial Vision: staffing for 24-hour access; working with parking to enable free parking on weekends or other ways to increase physical access to library space.
Collections
Beach 2030 Comments (11): Increase: Digitized and electronic materials; Textbook availability in the Library
Priority: Publicize the large digital collection already owned by the library and investigate ways to increase usage and purchase additional materials such as textbooks.
Financial Vision: More collaborative efforts between bookstore and library for print and electronic textbook access. More investment into on-demand course content, open access readers and funds for developing these collections. Promotional materials to publicize current digital collections.
Summary of Survey Questions:
Q1.TECHNOLOGY Beach 2030 Comments showed a need to raise awareness about our 3D Printing technologies and the uses of the I- Space. Priorities: Outreach to raise awareness of the I-Space, possible expanded I-Space hours to match the hours of the library and increased knowledge about the I-Space to assist patrons. These priorities may require increased promotional materials and promotional plans, increased staffing hours and increased staff education. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?
Some say they can offer assistance to patrons at the ref desk, but would like to be more informed about the area
Others do not feel that they can help in this area
Some feel that the i-space is something that will not be used by the majority of students and is just a “gee-wiz” fad
PDPC Committee: Perhaps a brainstorming session among all library faculty about our questions about the i-Space and how we can better utilize it. These could be then sent to iSpace for feedback.
RICC Committee: RICC proposes more information be available at the desk. ideas include a sign at the reference desk and i-Space hours be added to library hours calendar. RICC also proposes that an i-Space update be added to the Faculty Meeting agenda on an on-going basis.
Some say we can help develop awareness on campus by reaching out to our respective areas.
Some say with departmental contact, campus governance; and state contacts like COLD, librarians and other librarians across the state
Q3 - 2. OUTREACH Beach 2030 Comments showed a lack of knowledge about library instruction, our smart classrooms, and our ability to assist in First Year education.
Priorities: Increase visibility of information literacy instruction, integration of IL in GE programs (via courses like the forthcoming UNIV 111). These priorities may requrie wider outreach and increased assessment. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?
RICC Committee: RICC recommends an increase in reminding librarians to reach out to their faculty and liaisons. RICC would also like to explore the idea of hiring an assessment librarian.
Some feel like this can be accomplished through campus governance
Some feel like this can be accomplished by participating in new GE plan
Some feel patrons would benefit from further instruction on library services
Something for Info and Research Services area to consider with Lib Admin.
Some feel they be a voice for the library to ensure their department takes advantage of our instruction services
Some would like to add info about instruction to the library website
PDPC Committee: Workshops on outreach tactics and IL visibility could be held.
Some would like basic library instruction could be delivered via online tutorials and FAQs, leaving humans to do the more advanced instruction
Q4 - 3. ACCESS Beach 2030 Comments showed an interest in increased Disability Access for the library's website, as well as increased Alumni & Community access to the library. Priorities: Increased digital and physical accessibility to library resources and services via universal design and increased access to digital material for Alumni to encourage life long learning. These priorities may require staffing for expanded hours, ADA software and compliance, additional funds to enable greater Alumni access (via such avenues as Open Access) and physical reconfiguration of study areas. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?..
RICC Committee: RICC would like to explore ways in which we can check our ADA compliance of the LibGuides. For Alumni make the "Free Databases" guide more visible.
Some are concerned because the Feds are coming after CSUs for non compliance to federal law
Some are interested in ensuring their Libguides are accessible
Some would like to include a page on our site about accessibility
PDPC Committee: PDPC could have a Workshop about increasing ADA compliance on faculty LibGuides and other online information. Additionally PDPC could have a guest lecture from a rep from the AIM center.
Q5 - 4. SPACE Beach 2030 Comments showed an interest in increased study space, better parking near the library and multiple libraries on campus to decrease travel time. Priorities: Finding alternative space configurations inside and out of the library to increase study space and house collections. These priorities may require increased software, hardware, staffing hours and require space configurations for Universal Design, alternative furniture, and design consulting. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?
RICC Committee: RICC recommends a reduction of the reference collection to generate an additional space for additional seating in that area.
Some feel we still do not have enough staff for these type of changes
Some feel that input by the librarians will greatly improve the resulting user experience and area design.
Some want to help but aren’t sure how
Some want to move more items to ORCA to make room
PDPC Committee: If new software is obtained a workshop could be held for increased training
Some feel that the Student Success Bldg will help with some of these issues
Some feel that no more space should be given to tenants and that our current space could be used more effectively
Q6 - 5. OPERATIONS Beach 2030 Comments showed a desire for the increase of the library's operational hours. Priorities: Investigate ways to increase access to the physical library. These priorities may require staffing 24-hour access, and working with the Parking department to increase free parking times. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?
RICC Committee: We propose changing Saturday hours to 10AM-6PM, and opening at 12:00PM on Sundays (as opposed to 12:30PM). Additionally, the RICC further proposes that research assistance service on Saturday be restored (e.g. 1PM-4PM, 2PM-5PM). Finally, based upon data that shows that 2PM-5PM are the busiest three hours for research assistance on Sundays, we propose that research assistance hours on Sunday be reduced (e.g.1PM-4PM, 2PM-5PM).
Some don’t feel that 24hr access is worth the resources it would take to run it and that an increase online material would help
Some were not sure how to help with this, but would help if needed
Some feel that hiring adjunct librarians could help with an increase in operational hours
PDPC Committee: PDPC does not see an opening for assisting with this area
Q7 - 6. COLLECTIONS Beach 2030 Comments showed a desire for the increase digital and electronic materials and have greater and more current textbook availability in the library. Priorities: Outreach to show the large digital collection already maintained by the library and consideration of ways and means to increase usage. These priorities may include purchasing more textbooks for the library collection, more collaborative efforts between the bookstore and the library for print and electronic textbook access, and more investment in on-demand course content, open access readers, and promotional materials to advertise the collections. Do you think you and/or your area can help with this campus interest? If yes, how? If no, why not?
RICC Committee: RICC recommends an increase in outreach/education (especially to faculty) on Affordable Learning Solutions, drawing lessons from previous experiences. Additionally a suggestion to librarians to remind students about the e-collection in their instruction sessions.
Some recommend an increase in Open Access Sources
Some feel we should promote digital collections we already have among students and faculty
Some feel an increase in technical services staff would allow us to process materials faster and allow for collections to be maintained by more than one person trying to keep up with all of the changes in access
CDMC: Textbooks are very expensive and cannot be a priority for purchase since our monograph budgets are not extensive. We encourage instructors to donate copies of their textbooks to place on Reserve for their classes. In addition, the instructors can work with librarians for open access.
Some feel we should purchase more e-books
PDPC Committee: PDPC could host a workshop on Open Access materials and Affordable Learning Solutions
Some feel that textbooks should absolutely not be purchased and they are a ploy by publishers
Some feel that we need to increase usage of the free methods of promotion we already have