ScholarWorks @ the Beach

General Statement

In order to support the research and teaching mission of California State University, Long Beach, the University Library provides access to ScholarWorks. The role of the library is to support researchers developing data management plans, provide access to information regardless of storage location, and preserve/archive information. This repository serves to index and preserve the intellectual output of faculty researchers throughout the lifecycle of the data. The University Library assumes responsibility for the organization of the repository, directing potential users to information, and the longevity of its contents.

Access & Sharing

The University Library provides access to ScholarWorks as a means to provide access and share data. The choice of whether to use ScholarWorks or another repository (such as an external subject-specific repository) will be the responsibility of the PI.

Metadata

When data is submitted to ScholarWorks, it is assigned metadata according to the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative to make the data searchable. Every item in the DIR has an associated XML file utilizing DCMI elements. If the funding agencies or subject-specific best practices require the use of additional metadata standards to identify the content of the data, it is the responsibility of the PI to provide that metadata.

Intellectual Property Rights

Data that can be accepted into the ScholarWorks must be held in copyright by the PI or the University, or there must be documentation of an agreement by the copyright holder giving access to the University Library to preserve and disseminate the deposited data.

Format

It is the responsibility of the PI to choose appropriate formats in which the data will be generated, maintained, and made available. Formats more likely to be accessible in the future are:

• Non-proprietary
• Open, documented standard
• Common usage by research community
• Standard representation (ASCII, Unicode)
• Unencrypted
• Uncompressed

All data submitted to ScholarWorks must be submitted in digital format.

Archiving and Preservation

During the data collection stage, the short-term preservation of the data will be the responsibility of the PI. It is the responsibility of the PI to make arrangements for long-term stewardship and curation of data, whether through ScholarWorks or another trusted digital repository. It is also the responsibility of the PI to determine the retention period for all data and communicate this to ScholarWorks at the time of submission.

It is the responsibility of the University Library to maintain deposited data according to digital preservation best practices for the entire lifecycle of the data.

Storage & Backup

During the data collection stage, it is the responsibility of the PI to store and backup up all data. It is also the responsibility of the PI to deposit the data with an appropriate repository, such as ScholarWorks, in order to ensure long-term storage and backup of data.

The University, through ITS, performs storage and backup activities using standard enterprise technology.

Security

During the data collection stage, it is the responsibility of the PI to maintain the security of all data.

If the PI chooses to deposit data with ScholarWorks, the University will maintain the security of all deposited data. The University uses standard identity management systems, including LDAP and Shibboleth, in order to secure the data. The University, through ITS and ATS, maintains data security and provides for guest access when appropriate.

Selection & Retention

It is the responsibility of the PI to determine what elements of the data need to be retained for access and archival purposes, as well as the appropriate retention period, and to communicate these to the repository at the point of application for inclusion.

Terms of Use

Read the ScholarWorks Terms of Use.