Research Guides: Undocumented Students in Higher Education: Find Articles / Databases

Start with these

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Resources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Latino and Latina writers working in the United States. Covers Nineteenth century to the present, an archive it is not updated.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

How to find the right keywords for searching library databases

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

What vocabulary should I use to find info on undocumented students?

Using the correct vocabulary is key to finding the information you need. There are various terms that can be found to describe undocumented students in scholarly, popular, and government literature including but not limited to:

More scholarly descriptors:

DACA

DEFERRED ACTION FOR CHILDHOOD ARRIVALS (DACA)

UNDOCUMENTED STUDENTS

OUT OF STATUS STUDENTS

UNAUTHORIZED STUDENTS

CHILDREN OF ILLEGAL ALIENS --- UNITED STATES (LC SUBJECT HEADING)

ILLEGAL ALIENS --EDUCATION (HIGHER) -- UNITED STATES (LC SUBJECT HEADING)

Descriptors found in popular sources (magazines, some newspapers, social media):

ILLEGALS

ILLEGAL ALIENS

SIN PAPELES

Government descriptors:

ALIENS

RESIDENT ALIENS

NONCITIZENS

FOREIGN BORN

IMMIGRANTS

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.