Research Guides: WGSS 301 Feminist Research Methods: Home

WELCOME TO THE WGSS 301 RESEARCH GUIDE

The goal of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies is to analyze gender and sexuality as complex systems of power that are structured by race, ethnicity, nation, and class. WGSS is committed to teaching gender literacy as knowledge integral to civic literacy. From an interdisciplinary perspective, students explore a sophisticated body of knowledge and academic discipline to develop the skills for critical thinking and civic engagement.

Please use the menu to the left to navigate this page.

Research Tips

Feminist Research covers many disciplines. The Women's / Gender Studies research guide at https://csulb.libguides.com/wgss will help.

Topic Background Sources

Gale eBooks Reference Library This link opens in a new window A collection of about 900 encyclopedias and other reference books from several publishers across many disciplines that can be searched at one time.

Primary Sources

These sites provide primary sources of core documents of the time.

History Vault This link opens in a new window Includes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window The full-text documents in the Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture include material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups since 1940. They present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Complete issues of 27 key titles, chronicling the history and evolution of LGBT history and culture, including civil rights, health, lifestyle, politics, art and more from local, national and international writers, editors, thinkers, organizers and activists. From 1950s to 2015.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Rare archival content, including letters, court documents, periodicals, speeches, interviews and ephemera from local, national and international organizations, as well as notable individuals from around the world, to trace the history of LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the late 19th century to the present day.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window Contains over 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of full-text documents that focus on U.S. women’s history from 1600-2000. Includes documents related to the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, Woman Suffrage Movement, Civil Rights Movement, and others.
Women's Magazine Archive‎ This link opens in a new window Collection 1 & 2 (1846 - 2005) Access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman’s Day, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Citing Sources

Style Manuals and Citation Methods
by Leslie Andersen Last Updated May 19, 2023 2204 views this year