Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
With nearly 70 million individuals dislocated by war, famine, and environmental disaster, refugee crises have been, and will continue to be, a highly visible part of our global reality. But understanding and addressing what the future holds requires reckoning with the past. In the series Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement, Gale opens a window onto the history of refugees and forced migration so that the thousands of scholars and students who will study—and possibly work with—refugee populations may look profitably to the primary source record of the past to help them navigate the present and the future.
U.S. government datasets on economics, healthcare, environment, and public policy. Ideal for political science research and accessing open data resources.
Trial as potential for replacement of Mergent Online, which will sunset in Summer 2025.
Primary source exhibits of queer history and culture. Uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and also include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT. Each of the document collections include a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources.
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is a virtual encyclopedia of the world’s music and aural traditions. It contains over 3000 albums of folk, blues, jazz, spoken word and world music.
Primary documents and scholarly commentary about America between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Rooseveltt. Includes rare materials, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera. Essays covering such themes as race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage illuminate the cultural landscape of the time .
