Find Journals
Find Journals
Pinpoint specific journals by title or subject, utilizing the following resources. This section offers a streamlined approach for identifying key journals and obtaining detailed periodical information, helping you evaluate journal impact through citation data.
- Journal SearchLocate specific journals by title or subject
Use Cabells to identify academic journals and journal information for publishing, in addition to a suite of tools for manuscript preparation, and metrics to help users find the right journal.
- Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.
This link opens in a new window
Locate highly ranked journals Use Journal Citation Reports to search a journal title or select another option to find journals ranked by impact factor
- Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals
- Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.
- This link opens in a new window
Biology Journals
Essential Biology Journals by Specialty
Explore this comprehensive collection of top-tier journals categorized by their primary focus areas within biology
Interdisciplinary and Review Biology Journals
- Physics of life reviews Physics of Life Reviews is an international journal appearing quarterly, that publishes review articles on physics of living systems, complex phenomena in biological systems, and related fields of artificial life, robotics, mathematical bio-semiotics, and artificial intelligent systems.
- Biological reviews of the Cambridge Philosophical Society Overview Biological Reviews covers the entire range of the biological sciences, presenting several review articles per issue. Although scholarly and with extensive bibliographies, the articles are aimed at non-specialist biologists as well as researchers in the field. Authors are specifically instructed to be aware of this fact in their writing, and the resulting reviews serve as extensive introductions to particular fields, defining the state of the art, and drawing attention to gaps in knowledge. Articles are up to 20,000 words long and each contains an abstract, a thorough introduction and statement of conclusions. What Biological Reviews has to offer: Fast publication times Flexible policy on nature of articles, with scope for extensive tables and illustrations International exposure with global circulation
- PLoS biology PLOS Biology publishes significant advances across the biological sciences. And we push boundaries. Designed to advance science and the communities who depend upon it, we're transforming research communication to fit the research process.
- eLife Aims and scope eLife welcomes the submission of Research Articles, Short Reports, Tools and Resources articles, Research Advances, Scientific Correspondence and Review Articles in the subject areas below.
- Bioscience Published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), BioScience presents readers with timely and authoritative overviews of current research in biology, accompanied by essays and discussion sections on education, public policy, history, and the conceptual underpinnings of the biological sciences.
- BMC Biology As the flagship biology journal of the BMC series, BMC Biology publishes outstanding research and commissioned content across all areas of biology. Supported by an Editorial Board of international experts and carefully-selected reviewers, our highly responsive editorial team provides rapid evaluation and publication of research with broad, lasting impact.
- Philosophical transactions. Biological sciences Aims and scope Continuing its long history of influential scientific publishing, Philosophical Transactions B publishes high quality theme issues on topics of current importance and general interest within the life sciences, guest-edited by leading authorities and comprising new research, reviews and opinions from prominent researchers. Each issue aims to create an original and authoritative synthesis, often bridging traditional disciplines, which showcases current developments and provides a foundation for future research, applications and policy decisions. Issues are either based on the internationally acclaimed Royal Society Discussion Meetings or are stand-alone topics commissioned by the journal or proposed by the guest editors. All contributions are invited and the journal does not accept unsolicited stand-alone papers. All articles are peer reviewed and edited to the highest standards. The journal publishes topics across the life sciences. As long as the core subject lies within the biological sciences, some issues may also include content crossing into other areas such as the physical sciences, social sciences, biophysics, policy, economics etc. Issues generally sit within four broad areas (although many issues sit across these areas): Organismal, environmental and evolutionary biology Neuroscience and cognition Cellular, molecular and developmental biology Health and disease
- FASEB Journal The FASEB Journal publishes high quality and impactful multidisciplinary research covering biology and biomedical sciences at every level of organization: atomic, molecular, cell, tissue, organ, organismic, and population.
- BioEssays molecular – cellular – biomedical – physiology – translational research – systems - hypotheses encouraged BioEssays is a peer-reviewed, review-and-discussion journal publishing novel insights, forward-looking reviews and commentaries in contemporary biology with a molecular, genetic, cellular, or physiological dimension. Our aims are to publish novel insights, forward-looking reviews and commentaries in contemporary biology with a molecular, genetic, cellular, or physiological dimension, and serve as a discussion forum for new ideas in these areas. An additional goal is to encourage transdisciplinarity and integrative biologyin the context of organismal studies, systems approaches, through to ecosystems, where appropriate.
- Geobiology The field of geobiology explores the relationship between life and the Earth's physical and chemical environment. Geobiology, launched in 2003, aims to provide a natural home for geobiological research, allowing the cross-fertilization of critical ideas, and promoting cooperation and advancement in this emerging field. We also aim to provide you with a forum for the rapid publication of your results in an international journal of high standing. We are particularly interested in papers crossing disciplines and containing both geological and biological elements, emphasizing the co-evolutionary interactions between life and its physical environment over geological time.
Conservation and Ecology
- Global Change Biology Global Change Biology exists to promote understanding of the interface between all aspects of current environmental change that affects a substantial part of the globe and biological systems. Studies must concern biological systems, regardless of whether they are aquatic or terrestrial, and managed or natural environments. Both biological responses and feedbacks to change are included, and may be considered at any level of organization from molecular to biome. Studies may employ theoretical, modeling, analytical, experimental, observational, and historical approaches and should be exploratory rather than confirmatory. GCB publishes primary research articles, technical advances, research reviews, commentaries and letters. Global Change Biology defines global change as any consistent trend in the environment - past, present or projected - that affects a substantial part of the globe.
- Conservation Letters Conservation Letters is a scientific journal publishing empirical and theoretical research with significant implications for the conservation of biological diversity. The journal welcomes submissions across the biological and social sciences - especially interdisciplinary submissions – that advance pragmatic conservation goals as well as scientific understanding.
- Journal of Applied Ecology Journal of Applied Ecology publishes novel papers that apply ecological concepts, theories, models and methods to the management of biological resources in their widest sense. The editors encourage contributions that use applied ecological problems to test and develop basic ecological theory, although there must be clear potential for improving management. The journal includes all major themes in applied ecology: conservation biology, global change, environmental pollution, wildlife and habitat management, land use and management, aquatic resources, restoration ecology, and the management of pests, weeds and disease.
- Biological Conservation Biological Conservation is a leading international journal in the discipline of conservation science. The journal publishes articles spanning a diverse range of fields that contribute to the biological, sociological, ethical and economic dimensions of conservation. The primary aim of Biological Conservation is the publication of high-quality papers that advance the science and practice of conservation, or which demonstrate the application of conservation principles and policy. Biological Conservation invites the submission of research articles, reviews (including systematic reviews and perspectives), short communications, policy perspectives, and letters to the editor dealing with all aspects of conservation science, including theoretical and empirical investigations into the consequences of human actions for the diversity, structure and function of terrestrial, aquatic or marine ecosystems.
- Diversity and Distributions Diversity and Distributions publishes reviews and primary research papers on a very wide range of subjects relating to biodiversity. The journal accepts papers dealing with all taxa, ranging from bacteria to plants and animals, and all types of ecosystems. Every level of ecological understanding is covered, from molecular-level, through single-species studies, to ecosystem-, biome- and global-level perspectives. Diversity and Distributions takes the lead in the important field of invasion biology, a new domain at the interface of ecology and biogeography.
- Ecography Ecography publishes papers focused on broad spatial and temporal patterns, particularly studies of population and community ecology, macroecology, biogeography, and ecological conservation. Studies in ecological genetics and historical ecology are welcomed in the context of explaining contemporary ecological patterns.
- Conservation Physiology About the journal What is Conservation Physiology? Read Editor-in-Chief Steven Cooke’s introduction to this essential field of study, and its relevance in an environment under the increasing influence of human activities. Conservation Physiology is an online only, fully open access journal published on behalf of the Society for Experimental Biology. Biodiversity across the globe faces a growing number of threats associated with human activities. Conservation Physiology publishes research on all taxa (microbes, plants and animals) focused on understanding and predicting how organisms, populations, ecosystems and natural resources respond to environmental change and stressors. Physiology is considered in the broadest possible terms to include functional and mechanistic responses at all scales. We also welcome research towards developing and refining strategies to rebuild populations, restore ecosystems, inform conservation policy, and manage living resources.
- NeoBiota: Advancing research on alien species and biological invasions NeoBiota publishes papers across all disciplines interested in biological invasions, specifically on the ecology, evolution and biogeography of non-indigenous aquatic and terrestrial animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms, on mechanisms that drive the introduction, establishment and spread of these species, on ecological, evolutionary, economic and other consequences of biological invasions, and on the management of invasions in any part of the world.
- Biological Invasions Biological Invasions publishes research and synthesis papers on patterns and processes of biological invasions in terrestrial, freshwater, and marine (including brackish) ecosystems. Also of interest are scholarly papers on management and policy issues as they relate to conservation programs and the global amelioration or control of invasions.
- Animal Conservation Animal Conservation provides a forum for rapid publication of novel, peer-reviewed research into the conservation of animal species and their habitats. The focus is on rigorous quantitative studies of an empirical or theoretical nature, which may relate to populations, species or communities and their conservation. The journal publishes single-species papers only when they have clear broader implications for conservation of other species or systems. A central theme is to publish important new ideas of broad interest and with findings that advance the scientific basis of conservation. Subjects covered include population biology, epidemiology, evolutionary ecology, population genetics, biodiversity, biogeography, palaeobiology and conservation economics.
Biophysics and Molecular Biology
- Nature structural & molecular biology Aims & Scope Nature Structural & Molecular Biology is an integrated forum for structural and molecular studies. The journal places a strong emphasis on functional and mechanistic understanding of how molecular components in a biological process work together. Structural data may provide such insights, but they are not a pre-requisite for publication in the journal. Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to: Structure and function of proteins, nucleic acids and other macromolecules Structure and function of multi-component complexes DNA replication, repair and recombination Chromatin structure and remodeling Transcription RNA processing Translation Regulation of transcription and translation Functions of noncoding RNAs Protein folding, processing and degradation Sorting and trafficking of proteins and RNA Signal transduction and intracellular signaling Membrane processes Cell surface proteins and cell-cell interactions Molecular basis of disease
- Annual review of biophysics The Annual Review of Biophysics, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the field of biophysics, including macromolecular structure, function and dynamics, theoretical and computational biophysics, molecular biophysics of the cell, physical systems biology, membrane biophysics, biotechnology, nanotechnology, and emerging techniques.
- Biosensors and Bioelectronics Biosensors are defined as analytical devices incorporating a biological material, a biologically derived material or a biomimic intimately associated with or integrated within a physicochemical transducer or transducing microsystem, which may be optical, electrochemical, thermometric, piezoelectric, magnetic or micromechanical (Turner et al., 1987; Turner, 1989). Biosensors & Bioelectronics is the principal international journal devoted to research, design, development and application of biosensors and bioelectronics.
- Current Opinion in Chemical Biology The Current Opinion journals were developed out of the recognition that it is increasingly difficult for specialists to keep up to date with the expanding volume of information published in their subject. In Current Opinion in Chemical Biology, we help the reader by providing in a systematic manner: 1. The views of experts on current advances in chemical biology in a clear and readable form. 2. Evaluations of the most interesting papers, annotated by experts, from the great wealth of original publications.
- BBA - Gene regulatory mechanisms BBA Gene Regulatory Mechanisms includes reports that describe novel insights into mechanisms of transcriptional, post-transcriptional and translational gene regulation. Special emphasis is placed on papers that identify epigenetic mechanisms of gene regulation, including chromatin, modification, and remodeling. This section also encompasses mechanistic studies of regulatory proteins and protein complexes; regulatory or mechanistic aspects of RNA processing; regulation of expression by small RNAs; genomic analysis of gene expression patterns; and modeling of gene regulatory pathways. Papers describing gene promoters, enhancers, silencers or other regulatory DNA regions must incorporate significant functions studies.
- BBA - Molecular Basis of Disease BBA Molecular Basis of Disease addresses the biochemistry and molecular genetics of disease processes and models of human disease. This journal covers aspects of aging, cancer, metabolic-, neurological-, and immunological-based disease. Manuscripts focused on using animal models to elucidate biochemical and mechanistic insight in each of these conditions, are particularly encouraged. Manuscripts should emphasize the underlying mechanisms of disease pathways and provide novel contributions to the understanding and/or treatment of these disorders. Highly descriptive and method development submissions may be declined without full review.
- BBA - Molecular and Cell Biology of Lipids BBA Molecular and Cell Biology of Lipids publishes papers on original research dealing with novel aspects of molecular genetics related to the lipidome, the biosynthesis of lipids, the role of lipids in cells and whole organisms, the regulation of lipid metabolism and function, and lipidomics in all organisms. Manuscripts should significantly advance the understanding of the molecular mechanisms underlying biological processes in which lipids are involved. Papers detailing novel methodology must report significant biochemical, molecular, or functional insight in the area of lipids.
- Structure Structure aims to publish papers of exceptional interest in the field of structural biology. The journal strives to be essential reading for structural biologists, as well as biologists and biochemists that are interested in macromolecular structure and function. Structure strongly encourages the submission of manuscripts that present structural and molecular insights into biological function and mechanism. Other reports that address fundamental questions in structural biology, such as structure-based examinations of protein evolution, folding, and/or design, will also be considered. We will consider the application of any method, experimental or computational, at high or low resolution, to conduct structural investigations, as long as the method is appropriate for the biological, functional, and mechanistic question(s) being addressed. Likewise, reports describing single-molecule analysis of biological mechanisms are welcome.
- BBA - Bioenergetics BBA Bioenergetics covers the area of biological membranes involved in energy transfer and conversion. In particular, it focuses on the structures obtained by X-ray crystallography and other approaches, and molecular mechanisms of the components of photosynthesis, mitochondrial and bacterial respiration, oxidative phosphorylation, motility and transport. It spans applications of structural biology, molecular modeling, spectroscopy and biophysics in these systems, through bioenergetic aspects of mitochondrial biology including biomedicine aspects of energy metabolism in mitochondrial disorders, neurodegenerative diseases like Parkinson's and Alzheimer's, aging, diabetes and even cancer.
- Physics of life reviews Physics of Life Reviews is an international journal appearing quarterly, that publishes review articles on physics of living systems, complex phenomena in biological systems, and related fields of artificial life, robotics, mathematical bio-semiotics, and artificial intelligent systems. This journal is a unifying force, going across the barriers between disciplines, addressing all living systems from molecules to populations and from genetics to mind and artificial systems modeling these phenomena.
Biotechnology & Applied Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery Nature Reviews Drug Discovery integrates academia and industry, providing broad, expert coverage of the whole drug discovery and development arena – from disease mechanisms, novel therapeutic approaches and chemistry to clinical trials and regulatory affairs.
- Nature Biotechnology Nature Biotechnology is a monthly journal publishing new concepts in biological technology of relevance to bioengineering, medicine, energy, agriculture, food and the environment. It has a magazine covering the commercial, political, ethical, legal and societal aspects of this research.
- Trends in Biotechnology Trends in Biotechnology publishes reviews and perspectives on the applied biological sciences: useful science applied to, derived from, or inspired by living systems. The major themes that TIBTECH is interested in include Bioprocessing (biochemical engineering, applied enzymology, industrial biotechnology, biofuels, metabolic engineering) Omics (genome editing, single-cell technologies, bioinformatics, synthetic biology) Materials and devices (bionanotechnology, biomaterials, diagnostics/imaging/detection, soft robotics, biosensors/bioelectronics) Therapeutics (biofabrication, stem cells, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, antibodies and other protein drugs, drug delivery) Agroenvironment (environmental engineering, bioremediation, genetically modified crops, sustainable development)
- Genome Biology Genome Biology covers all areas of biology and biomedicine studied from a genomic and post-genomic perspective. Content includes research, new methods and software tools, and reviews, opinions and commentaries. Areas covered include, but are not limited to: sequence analysis; bioinformatics; insights into molecular, cellular and organismal biology; functional genomics; epigenomics; population genomics; proteomics; comparative biology and evolution; systems and network biology; genome editing and engineering; genomics of disease; and clinical genomics. All content is open access immediately on publication.
- Biotechnology Advances Biotechnology Advances is a review journal which considers all aspects of the multidisciplinary field. The scope includes biotechnology principles and applications in industry, agriculture, medicine, environmental concerns and regulatory issues. Authoritative articles on current developments and future trends in biotechnology are empathized. Submissions of appropriate manuscripts are invited. A wide audience of scientists, engineers and others is addressed: students, instructors, researchers, practitioners, managers, governments and related stakeholders. Special issues are published on selections of presentations at recent relevant conferences as arranged with the organizations.
- Genome Research Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that publishes studies on the structure, function, biology, and evolution of genomes of all organisms, with a long-standing emphasis on genome-scale analyses, chromatin structure and function, epigenomics, systems genetics, and proteomics. We also feature gene discoveries that provide novel insights and reports of high-throughput experimental and computational approaches.
- Current Opinion in Biotechnology The Current Opinion journals were developed out of the recognition that it is increasingly difficult for specialists to keep up to date with the expanding volume of information published in their subject. In Current Opinion in Biotechnology, we help the reader by providing in a systematic manner: 1. The views of experts on current advances in biotechnology in a clear and readable form. 2. Evaluations of the most interesting papers, annotated by experts, from the great wealth of original publications.
- Biosensors and Bioelectronics Biosensors are defined as analytical devices incorporating a biological material, a biologically derived material or a biomimic intimately associated with or integrated within a physicochemical transducer or transducing microsystem, which may be optical, electrochemical, thermometric, piezoelectric, magnetic or micromechanical (Turner et al., 1987; Turner, 1989). Biosensors & Bioelectronics is the principal international journal devoted to research, design, development and application of biosensors and bioelectronics.
- Metabolic Engineering Experimental, computational, and modelling approaches for the elucidation of metabolic pathways and their manipulation by genetic, media, or other environmental means are presented. Efficient probing of metabolic pathways requires the application of appropriate methods from molecular biology and biochemistry, along with modeling and data analysis techniques from engineering. MBE provides a forum for communicating such interdisciplinary research, as well as relevant results in the constituent areas of biochemistry, molecular biology, applied microbiology, cellular physiology, cellular nutrition in health and disease, and biochemical engineering.
- Molecular Therapy Molecular Therapy is the leading international journal for research on the development of molecular and cellular therapeutics to correct genetic and acquired diseases, including but not limited to research on gene transfer and editing, vector development and design, stem cell manipulation, vaccine development, pre-clinical target validation, safety/efficacy studies, and clinical trials.
Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology is a monthly peer-reviewed review journal published by Nature Portfolio. It was established in October 2000 and covers all aspects of molecular and cell biology.
- Nature Medicine A biomedical research journal covering the latest advances in biomedical research for scientists and physicians, with an emphasis on clarity of presentation. Articles cover fields such as cancer biology, cardiovascular research, gene therapy, immunology, vaccine development, and neuroscience.
- Cell Cell publishes findings of unusual significance in any area of experimental biology, including but not limited to cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, immunology, virology and microbiology, cancer, human genetics, systems biology, signaling, and disease mechanisms and therapeutics. The basic criterion for considering papers is whether the results provide significant conceptual advances into, or raise provocative questions and hypotheses regarding, an interesting and important biological question. In addition to primary research articles in four formats, Cell features review and opinion articles on recent research advances and issues of interest to its broad readership in the Leading Edge section.
- Cell Stem Cell Cell Stem Cell is a broad-spectrum journal that covers the entire spectrum of stem cell biology. Topics covered include embryonic stem cells, pluripotency, germline stem cells, tissue-specific stem cells, stem cell differentiation, epigenetics, stem cell genomics and systems biology, genome reprogramming, cancer stem cells, stem cell niches, stem-cell-based disease models, nuclear transfer technology, bioengineering, drug discovery, in vivo imaging of stem cells, therapeutic applications, regenerative medicine, clinical and translational insights, stem cell research policies, ethical issues, and technical or resource-based innovations. We will consider studies from any model system that provides insights into stem cell biology, and we encourage submissions on human stem cells.
Anatomy & Morphology
- Brain Structure and Function Brain Structure & Function publishes research that provides insight into brain structure−function relationships. Studies published here integrate data spanning from molecular, cellular, developmental, and systems architecture to the neuroanatomy of behavior and cognitive functions. BS&F does not publish purely clinical or neuropathological papers except in cases where the work actually contributes to the understanding of normal brain structure and function. Research on the peripheral nervous system is not the focus of BS&F. Studies of the mammalian nervous system are central to the journal, yet coverage may range beyond this taxon. Methodologies include modern tracing, immunocytochemistry and neuroimaging as well as genetic methods, neuroinformatics (atlases, databases and internet tools), statistical techniques that support the integration of cellular and systems-level anatomical and functional data, and genetic/molecular/electrophysiological approaches to understanding brain organization.
- Frontiers in Neuroanatomy Frontiers in Neuroanatomy publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research revealing important aspects of the anatomical organization of all nervous systems across all species. Specialty Chief Editor Javier DeFelipe at the Cajal Institute (CSIC) is supported by an outstanding Editorial Board of international experts. This multidisciplinary open-access journal is at the forefront of disseminating and communicating scientific knowledge and impactful discoveries to researchers, academics, clinicians and the public worldwide.
- Developmental Dynamics Developmental Dynamics provides a focus for communication among developmental biologists who study the progressive and dynamic emergence of form and function during embryonic development. The journal is an international forum for the exchange of novel and substantive information on mechanisms that control development. We seek manuscripts presenting work done at all levels of biological organization, ranging from the molecular to the organismal, using both animal and plant model systems, and we welcome studies that advance our understanding of the developmental basis of human disease.
- Journal of Anatomy Journal of Anatomy publishes original papers, invited review articles and book reviews. Its main focus is to understand anatomy through an analysis of structure, function, development and evolution. Priority will be given to studies of that clearly articulate their relevance to the anatomical community. Focal areas include: experimental studies, contributions based on molecular and cell biology and on the application of modern imaging techniques and papers with novel methods or synthetic perspective on an anatomical system. Studies that are essentially descriptive anatomy are appropriate if they communicate clearly a broader functional or evolutionary significance. Articles covering bioinformatics and other topics that clarify or provide tools for functional anatomical understanding will also be sympathetically considered.
- Clinical Anatomy Clinical Anatomy is the Official Journal of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists and the British Association of Clinical Anatomists. The goal of Clinical Anatomy is to provide a medium for the exchange of current information between anatomists and clinicians. This journal embraces anatomy in all its aspects as applied to medical practice. Furthermore, the journal assists physicians and other health care providers in keeping abreast of new methodologies for patient management and informs educators of new developments in clinical anatomy and teaching techniques. Clinical Anatomy publishes original and review articles of scientific, clinical, and educational interest.
- Journal of Morphology The Journal of Morphology is dedicated to publishing studies in functional, comparative, and evolutionary morphology. We publish hypothesis based research that addresses questions about animal morphology, functioning, and evolution. Based on our long tradition, we continue to seek publishing the best papers in animal morphology. Invertebrate morphology partners equally with vertebrate morphology and you can be assured that, following the dictum "Present the Science at its Best," we will help you to present your most important, most lasting work in depth and in detail in the Journal of Morphology.
- Tissue and Cell Tissue and Cell is devoted to original research on the organization of cells, subcellular and extracellular components at all levels, including the grouping and interrelations of cells in tissues and organs. The journal encourages submission of ultrastructural studies that provide novel insights into structure, function and physiology of cells and tissues, in health and disease. Bioengineering and stem cells studies focused on the description of morphological and/or histological data are also welcomed.
- Zoomorphology The journal Zoomorphology publishes original research papers based on morphological investigation of invertebrates and vertebrates, reviews designed as comparative surveys summarizing current knowledge from an evolutionary perspective and method papers presenting new approaches or reviews on methods used in animal morphology. Coverage spans the macroscopic, microscopic and ultrastructural levels, including embryological studies. The journal places special emphasis on: Comparison - Studies comparing morphological and anatomical structures in an evolutionary context Function - Studies relating structure and function Integration - Studies on the relation between structural-functional systems of animals and their general biology Evolution - Studies on the evolution of morphological and anatomical structures on the basis of sound phylogenies Development - Studies on the spatiotemporal formation of morphological and anatomical structur
- The Anatomical Record: Advances in Integrative Anatomy and Evolutionary Biology The Anatomical Record: Advances in Integrative Anatomy and Evolutionary Biology, an official publication of the American Association of Anatomists, publishes new discoveries in the morphological aspects of molecular, cellular, systems, and evolutionary biology. The journal focuses on major new findings in the anatomical consequences of gene disruption, activation, or over expression upon cell, tissue, or organ architecture and also recognizes the importance of descriptive studies in contemporary research, particularly when framed in the context of experimental models or questions.
- Anatomical science international The official English journal of the Japanese Association of Anatomists, Anatomical Science International (formerly titled Kaibogaku Zasshi) publishes original research articles dealing with morphological sciences. Coverage in the journal includes molecular, cellular, histological and gross anatomical studies on humans and on normal and experimental animals, as well as functional morphological, biochemical, physiological and behavioral studies if they include morphological analysis.