Research Guides: BIOL 492A & BIOL 592A Stem Cell Research Internship: Start Your Research

Stem Cell Online Resources

Professional Organizations & Research Institutions

International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) Founded in 2002, ISSCR is a global nonprofit organization that promotes excellence in stem cell science and its applications to human health. It provides educational resources, research updates, and ethical guidelines for researchers, policymakers, and the public.
Student Society for Stem Cell Research (SSSCR) SSSCR is an international student network dedicated to advancing stem cell research for medical breakthroughs. The organization supports advocacy, education, and collaboration among young scientists worldwide.
EuroStemCell – European Stem Cell Research Initiative EuroStemCell is an EU-funded initiative that provides educational materials, research summaries, and policy discussions on stem cell applications, regenerative medicine, and ethics.
Harvard Stem Cell Institute (HSCI) HSCI is a leading research institute dedicated to developing stem cell-based treatments. The website provides research news, educational resources, and lab updates from Harvard-affiliated scientists.
California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) CIRM is California’s stem cell agency, funding cutting-edge research and clinical trials. The website includes news updates, grant opportunities, and patient resources related to stem cell therapies.

Government & Policy Resources

These resources provide scientific information, clinical guidelines, and ethical policies for stem cell research.

National Institutes of Health (NIH) – Stem Cell Information The NIH Stem Cell Information portal offers comprehensive resources on clinical trials, research funding, current scientific advancements, and ethical guidelines for stem cell research. It also includes FDA warnings and policy updates.
International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) – Guidelines for Stem Cell Research & Clinical Translation ISSCR’s official guidelines for ethical and responsible stem cell research, including clinical trials, patient safety, and policy recommendations.
The Stem Cell Debate – PBS NOVA This PBS NOVA article provides historical context, ethical considerations, and policy decisions regarding stem cell research, including insights from the NIH’s Human Embryo Research Panel and the impact of U.S. federal funding policies.

Clinical Trials & Translational Research

ClinicalTrials.gov – Stem Cell Clinical Trials A U.S. government database listing ongoing and completed clinical trials involving stem cell therapies and regenerative medicine worldwide.
Stem Cells Translational Medicine Publishes high-impact studies bridging the gap between laboratory research and clinical applications of stem cells.

Open-Access Journals & Research Publications

Stem Cell Reports (ISSCR) Open Access Journal An open-access journal from the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) that publishes cutting-edge research in stem cell biology, regenerative medicine, and translational applications.
Frontiers in Cell and Developmental Biology – Stem Cell Research A peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring advancements in stem cell biology, tissue engineering, and regenerative medicine.
npj Regenerative Medicine (Nature Partner Journal) An open-access journal publishing innovative studies on regenerative medicine, stem cell-based therapies, and tissue engineering.

Highly Ranked Stem Cell Research Journals

Comprehensive & High-Impact Stem Cell Journals

These journals publish broad-spectrum research covering fundamental stem cell biology, translational medicine, and clinical applications.

Cell Stem Cell A high-impact journal covering embryonic, adult, and cancer stem cells, genome reprogramming, regenerative medicine, and ethical considerations.
Stem Cells Focuses on mechanistic stem cell biology and therapeutic applications, including clinical trials and functional studies.
Stem Cell Reports The open-access journal of the ISSCR, emphasizing basic, translational, and clinical research bridging stem cell biology and regenerative medicine.

Translational & Clinical Stem Cell Research Journals

These journals focus on translating stem cell discoveries into medical treatments, including clinical trials and therapeutic applications.

Current Stem Cell Research & Therapy Stem Cell Research & Therapy is the major forum for translational research into stem cell therapies. An international peer-reviewed journal, it publishes high-quality open access research articles with a special emphasis on basic, translational and clinical research into stem cell therapeutics and regenerative therapies, including animal models and clinical trials. The journal also provides reviews, viewpoints, commentaries, reports and methods
Stem Cell Research & Therapy Stem Cell Research & Therapy is the major forum for translational research into stem cell therapies. An international peer-reviewed journal, it publishes high-quality open access research articles with a special emphasis on basic, translational and clinical research into stem cell therapeutics and regenerative therapies, including animal models and clinical trials. The journal also provides reviews, viewpoints, commentaries, reports and methods.
Stem Cells Translational Medicine STEM CELLS Translational Medicine works to advance the utilization of cells for clinical therapy. By bridging stem cell molecular and biological research and helping speed translations of emerging lab discoveries into clinical trials, STEM CELLS Translational Medicine will help move applications of these critical investigations closer to accepted best patient practices and ultimately improve outcomes.
Cell Transplantation Cell Transplantation (CLL), the Regenerative Medicine Journal is an open access, peer reviewed journal that publishes continuously throughout the year. CLL is a multi-disciplinary forum for publication of articles on cell transplantation and its applications to human diseases and also reports on relevant technological advances, clinical studies, and regulatory considerations related to the implantation of cells into the body in order to provide complete coverage of the field. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Fundamental & Mechanistic Stem Cell Research Journals

These journals publish studies on the molecular mechanisms of stem cell biology, cell differentiation, and genetic regulation.

Stem Cell Research Stem Cell Research is dedicated to publishing high-quality manuscripts focusing on the biology and applications of stem cell research. Submissions to Stem Cell Research, may cover all aspects of stem cells, including embryonic stem cells, tissue-specific stem cells, cancer stem cells, developmental studies, genomics and translational research. Special focus of SCR is on mechanisms of pluripotency and description of newly generated pluripotent stem cell lines.
Stem Cell Reviews and Reports Stem Cell Reviews and Reports (SCRR) covers contemporary and emerging areas in stem cells by publication of reviews, original data reports (full reports and short reports), protocols, novel hypotheses and commentaries. The scope related to stem cells is broad and includes topics in stem cell biology covering basic, clinical, biotechnology, regulatory, and ethical aspects of embryonic and adult stem cells, induced pluripotent stem cells, fate choice, specific lineage and cloning issues, translational studies, and diseases where stem cell anomalies play a key role and related matters. Original articles are expected to provide novel insights based on new data. Reviews, commentaries and hypotheses should provide syntheses of current concepts in the field and discuss emerging issues and controversies; the nature of the topic or idea being discussed will dictate appropriate choice of article type. Protocols will help accelerate studies in the field, by providing practical and step by step descriptions of established or emerging protocols and techniques of utility for both established and novice investigator.

Stem Cell Books

Find Books / eBooks

Search the Library Catalog with OneSearch
OneSearch is your gateway to explore books, eBooks, streaming media, journal articles, and more!
For tips and tutorials, visit the "Help with OneSearch" link below the search box on the library's homepage.

Explore Key Topics in Stem Cell Research

Access curated pre-made OneSearch links for top Library of Congress Classification searches in Stem Cell research.

Stem Cell Biology & Research Covers fundamental stem cell research, including pluripotency, differentiation, embryonic & adult stem cells, and genetic regulation.
Regenerative Medicine & Therapy Focuses on the clinical application of stem cells in regenerative medicine, including tissue engineering, gene therapy, and biomaterials. Books in this range explore therapeutic stem cell applications for injury recovery and organ regeneration.
Stem Cell Biomedical Engineering & Biotechnology Includes research on bioengineering stem cell therapies, stem cell delivery systems, and biotechnological advancements in stem cell applications. Topics cover lab-to-clinic translation, drug development, and advanced biomaterials.
Cancer Stem Cells & Oncology Applications Focuses on stem cell applications in cancer research, particularly cancer stem cells, tumor microenvironments, and stem cell-based therapies for oncology. Covers targeted therapies for diseases like leukemia, glioblastoma, and solid tumors.
Stem Cell Therapy in Surgery & Organ Regeneration Covers the clinical use of stem cells in surgical interventions, including bone marrow transplants, neurodegenerative diseases, spinal cord injuries, and cardiac repair.Related to Neuroscience & Neurodegenerative Disorders for stem cell applications in neurology.

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Contact Your Subject Librarian
Contact me with questions or to get help with your research!
Help with Research

Your Librarian

Norah DeBellis

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Biology, Consumer Affairs, Food Science, Government Information, Natural Sciences, Nutrition & Dietetics, Ocean Studies Institute, Science Education, Speech-Language Pathology

BIOL 492A & BIOL 592A Stem Cell Research Internship: Start Your Research

Welcome

Stem Cell Online Resources

Professional Organizations & Research Institutions

Government & Policy Resources

Clinical Trials & Translational Research

Open-Access Journals & Research Publications

Highly Ranked Stem Cell Research Journals

Comprehensive & High-Impact Stem Cell Journals

Translational & Clinical Stem Cell Research Journals

Fundamental & Mechanistic Stem Cell Research Journals

Stem Cell Books

Find Books / eBooks

Explore Key Topics in Stem Cell Research

Explore Key Topics in Stem Cell Research

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Your Librarian