Research Guides: FSCI 232 Food Science: Find Articles using Databases

Selecting and Using Keywords

Database Thinglink images and video tutorials

The following images and video tutorials highlight basic search strategies for just a few of the highly recommended databases to use for your research.

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database

Hover your cursor over the flashing bluearrows to learn more

Nutrition and Food Science Database Video Tutorial

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Web of Science

Hover your cursor over the flashing greenarrows to learn more

Web of Science Video Tutorial

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ScienceDirect

Hover your cursor over the flashing orangearrows to learn more

ScienceDirect Video Tutorial

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

CQ Researcher

Use CQ Researcher as a guide to locating current issues and further resources related to your topic.

Hover your cursor over the flasing buttons to learn how.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Recommended Databases

Hover your cursor over the information icon to learn about the databases

Go to the Database Tutorials tab for help

Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers. Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LWW Nursing & Health Collection (via Ovid) This link opens in a new window LWW (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins) Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection is a database of full-text articles from 70 LWW journals that is searchable using the Ovid interface.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Get the full-text of the articles

GetIt@CSULB Link

pdf linked to database

Use BeachReach to request a copy

Ways to Improve Database Search Results

Add additional, more specific keywords to your search to find more relevant results
Use Filters: publication date, material type, etc
Evaluate author supplied keywords from the most relevant results to see if there are terms you can use to improve your search

Too many? Or too few results?

Too Many Results	Too Few Results
To reduce the number of results you are getting: Add additional keywords to your search Use more specific keyword to describe the topic Apply Filters: Publication Date Material Type Subject, Topic, Category Filters	To increase the number of results you are getting: Reduce the the number of keywords Use less specific keywords to describe the topic Try a different database Use more OR operators between synonyms Use fewer AND's between keywords

Too Many Results

Too Few Results

To reduce the number of results you are getting:

Add additional keywords to your search
Use more specific keyword to describe the topic
Apply Filters:
- Publication Date
- Material Type
- Subject, Topic, Category Filters

To increase the number of results you are getting:

Reduce the the number of keywords
Use less specific keywords to describe the topic
Try a different database
Use more OR operators between synonyms
Use fewer AND's between keywords

Learn how to improve your search results. See the screenshots below.

Add additional, more specific keywords to your search

Find author supplied keywords below the abstracts of relevant articles.