These databases will help you find articles from a variety of disciplines (History, sociology, sciences, and more!).
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
America: History and Life
Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Contains resources covering culture, traditions, and the social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present
Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
Project MUSE
Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
North American Indian Drama
Contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
The databases below contain ONLY primary sources.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books about indigenous Americans dating from the earliest contact with European settlers. Also includes photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.
History Vault
Includes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press
1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb
These databases focus on specific disciplines such as Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies, and more!
Anthropology Plus
Worldwide coverage of the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and related interdisciplinary studies.Coverage: 1880 to present.Allows up to 5 simultaneous users.
ERIC (via EBSCO)
Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
GenderWatch
40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.Allows up to 2 simultaneous users.
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
SocINDEX Full Text
Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
The databases below contain audiovisual resources such as oral histories or videos.
PBS Video Collection
Contains documentaries and series featuring diverse content in science, culture, history, art, literature, business, economics and more.
Kanopy Streaming Videos
Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Academic Video Online
More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
Docuseek2
More than 800 streaming video documentaries in more than 25 academic subject areas.
