Free Databases (all subjects): Education

The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.

The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world.

Contains descriptions of over 50 theories relevant to human learning and instruction. Each description includes the following sections: overview, scope/application, example, principles, and references.

Designed for high school and college history teachers, this site contains a wealth of information about primary sources and historical methodologies. In addition to syllabi, suggested readings, quizzes, lesson plans, and historical analysis, the History Matters site contains several useful reference sources and "secrets of great history teachers."

CHDS has information and graphs about security issues across the USA, including shooting statistics.

Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, information management and more.

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching. MERLOT is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.

Search for college class materials available free online.

Indexes over 250 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Vocabulary for learners and educators, contains book specific vocabulary lessons