Research Guides: Free Databases (all subjects): Environment

Environment

California Natural Diversity Database
A program that inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.
ECOLEX: A Gateway to Environmental Law
Includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided.
GreenFILE
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

more... less...

"In keeping with our commitment to environmental consciousness, EBSCO proudly offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an'informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE's initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage - from to volume 1, issue 1 to present - for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), i>Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles."
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Database of more than 10,000 full-text documents published by the EPA.
PLANTS Database
Contains detailed biological and ecological information on thousands of plant varieties, as well as maps, images, and downloadable fact sheets. The site's variety of detail makes it appropriate for students, consumers, and researchers.
SPRILIB: A Polar and Glaciological Bibliographic Database
This database of over 100,000 records collected from 1,000 periodical titles "covers the literature of all subjects relating to the Arctic and Antarctic published in a wide range of languages. It also offers comprehensive coverage for all aspects of snow and ice throughout the world."