History 499; United States and Wars in Asia, Library Resources (Fall 2021)
Chloé Pascual, History Librarian Chloe.Pascual@csulb.edu
I am available for e-mail and zoom research consultations at the above e-mail address
UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE provides an overview of services available in the library.
REFERENCE MATERIAL: Print or Online Encyclopedias
Anti-immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy : Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social and Military History
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political Social and Military History
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
Global Connections : America's Role In the 21st Century
Historical Dictionary of the Korean War
International Security and the United States: An Encyclopedia
The Oxford Companion to Word War II
FINDING BOOKS IN ONESEARCH
If you discover a CSULB owned print book in OneSearch, we can get to you in a week. But if you want online books only, select "Full Text Online" option, Review this graphic, or you can review this 4 minute tutorial.
Search Techniques
Use Subject Keywords For Higher Relevancy
To get results with higher relevancy to you topic, use subject keyword searches.
philippines foreign relations united states
To Find Books With Primary Documents: Use the subject word sources to find books that have documents in them
china foreign relations sources
Use OneSearch primary history is to find the oldest material, or material published around the time, (contemporary to) your historical event. Try searching for pioneers, politicians and historical figures as AUTHORS or SUBJECTS. Then sort or limit your results by date to locate items published at the same time as the historical event or written during the person's life.)
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
CSU+ To rapidly get books from other libraries that we don’t have or that are out.
BeachReach Our interlibrary loan service for journals not in CSU+
Both services described here
SPECIFIC CSULB HISTORY SUBJECT PAGES
FIND RELEVANT ARCHIVES
Use ARCHIVESGRID will find archival repositories around the U.S.
RETROSPECTIVE DATABASES
American Periodicals 1740-1940 Has full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular and scholarly periodicals.
Congressional Publications 1824-2003. Testimony before congress, investigations, documents, transcripts.
Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1996 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
Historical New York Times, 1851-2011 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907 - 1983 Covers 1200 scholarly journal content
Meet the Press News TV Interviews, 1947-2013
News, Policy, Politics Magazine Archive w/Newsweek 1890s to date.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890 -1983 Covers popular magazines from the period.
Revolution and Protest Online Primary documents of revolutions, 18th thru 20th centuries.
Times (Of London) 1786-2010 (Excludes Sunday Times) Full text newspaper content.
CURRENT RESEARCH DATABASES
In addition to these, see our our broad array of databases relating to Asian Studies
Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.
America History & Life (for U.S. History). And Historical Abstracts for World History. The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in history. Article citations go back to the 1950s.
​China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database. Find full text Chinese language scholarly journal and content.
CiNii National Institute of Informatics (Japan) Find scholarly articles and books in Japanese
Columbia International Affairs Online: Online articles and documents relating to international affairs, security studies.
Dissertations and Theses Provides full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the 1960s.
Global Newsstream Wide array of US and International Newspapers back to the 1980s
Politics Database Includes international relations, country reports and Scholarly articles from 1920s to date.
JSTOR Online Journal Archive A full text archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.
Westlaw Go to NEWS and you can search worldwide newspaper coverage back to the 1980s.
CFOR HELP IN CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS, STYLES SEARCH ENGINES, SEE
Style Manuals and Citation Methods Research Guide, specifically Turabian Style.
GOOGLE SEARCH TOOLS FOR FINDING SCHOLARLY INTERNET RESOURCES
Google google.com Search Tips--to find sites at types of domains: type in
Use domain stems to find sites in specific internet realms
Google Books will allow you to read chapters of selected books. You may find be able to find these in COAST or LINK+
Google Scholar to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this in the library, you may find full text articles you can open.
ONLINE DOCUMENTS COVERING U.S. HISTORY
CIA Freedom of Information Act, Electronic Reading Room contains declassified documents
FBI Freedom of Information Act "Vault". Declassified documents viewable online.
Foreign Relations of the United States Selected documents available online from 1953-1976. And in library since 1941 under KX 233 A3.
National Security Archive at George Washington University