Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Course Guides: History 349 (History of Food)

Course Guides Used for Library Instruction in History Research

Library Research Handout for History 349

Food History Research, Library Resources (1/2020)

Greg Armento, History Librarian, (562-985-4367) greg.armento@csulb.edu 

University Library PAGE  contains an overview of research services available in the library.

 For more research options, go to United States History Research Guide 

THREE SEARCH TIPS

1. If you place an asterisk* at the end of a word, you will catch all word variants. So if you type in wordit will find: word or words or wordiness or wordy or wordsmithetc. (Don't use the * in a google search. It does not work there)

2. If you want to force word adjacency or find a phrase, such as "drinking establishment",  place your words in "quotation marks" as shown. With the asterisk* at the end, we'll find the phrase "drinking establishment" or "drinking establishments"

3. If you want synonyms in a search, use capital OR; (cooking OR culinary OR gastronom*)

FINDING HISTORY BOOKS (print and online)

Use OneSearch Book Search to find books and media we have.

If you want higher relevancy in your results, try a OneSearch Subject Keyword Search for terms within a subject (or descriptor) heading, and will result in more highly relevant books.

Try some of these subject keyword combinations below in conjunction with an a secondary topic of interest.

cookbook*     restaurant*    food habits     recipe*     cookery     food     cuisine*     gastronom*     alcoholic beverag*      tavern*     bars 
 
For finding primary materials, use some of these subject keywords below with another topic of interest:

sources   personal narrative*   interview*   diaries   oral histor*   biograph*   correspondence   papers   letters   facsimile*    

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES 

CSU+ To rapidly get books from other libraries that we don’t have

BEACH REACH To rapidly get journal articles we don’t have, from other libraries

These 2 services described here

EARLY NEWSPAPERS, JOURNALS, PAMPHLETS, BOOKS (SUGGESTING PRIMARY CONTENT)

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (1684-1912)

America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876  

American's Historical Imprints, 1639-1820  Consists of more than 37,000 full text books, pamphlets and broadsides.1) Click on “Subject” tab. 2) Click on subtab: “Society and Manners” 3) Resulting list of topics includes “food,” “food habits,” “cookery,” “recipes,” “taverns”

American Periodicals, 1700-1940 

California Digital Newspaper Collection 1846-1924

Colonial America, 1606-1822 British Foreign Office documents relating to Colonial North America

Congressional Hearings 1824 - 2003. May contain food safety & regulation testimony before Congress.

EEBO Early English Books Online 1473 -1700  

Early European Books 1490-1700

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 1700-1800 Significant books & pamphlets published in Britain and America.

Eighteenth Century Journals 1685-1835

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808 - 1980

THREE HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS THAT CAN BE SIMULTANEOUSLY SEARCHED

Historical New York Times 1851-2012 

Historical Los Angeles Times 1881-1993 

Historical Chicago Defender 1905-1975 (An African American Newspaper).

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective and Readers' Guide Retrospective. Both cover popular and scholarly magazines published from 1890-1983

19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive 

Times (Of London) Historical Archive 1785-2010.

SCHOLARLY HISTORY DATABASES

To find articles in many of our databases, look for the SFX icon in each citation. It may look like this get it at csulb It’s a shortcut to finding the article online.

Academic Search Complete  Comprehensive interdisciplinary periodical index. 1990 to date.

America History & Life  U.S. History, precolumbian to present.

L’Année Philologique  Covers Greco-Roman Antiquity;  500 b.c.e. to 500 c.e.

Anthropology Plus. Worldwide in scope, provides, covers periodical  content

AnthroSource Research on North American anthropology

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies Online  European history from 300 – 1500 c.e.

Dissertations (Online)  Full text access to PhD dissertations.

Historical Abstracts World history, 1450 to date.

INTERNET SITES

Food History - Library of Congress. “Science Tracer Bullets Online” Series

Regional History Resources, Los Angeles Public Library, Menu Collection

GOOGLE TIPS

Use Google Scholar to find a wide range of interdisciplinary scholarly journals. You may be able to open many of these articles if searching on our campus (since it knows our IP address and what we subscribe to.)\

Use Google Books to identify a wide array of books that might exist on your topic. You can then check our OneSearch catalog or CSU+ to see if it can be borrowed quickly.\