Research Guides: NUTR 234 Orientation to Nutrition: Choose a Research Topic

Developing a Research Topic

Choosing a Research Topic in Nutrition and Dietetics

Nutrition and Dietetics research covers a wide range of topics, including health, fitness, industry trends, and public policy. To help you develop a strong research topic, explore resources such as Top Nutrition Trends, Lifecycle Nutrition, and key journal articles.

How to Choose a Research Topic

Select a topic that interests you—engagement makes research easier.
Focus on key issues or questions in the field.

Refining Your Topic

Background Reading: Use OneSearch and online sources to gather information.
Narrow Your Focus: Consider questions like:
- Who is affected? Where and when is it relevant?
- Are organizations or policies involved?
- What key questions or debates exist?
- Does it challenge current thinking?
- Is it a long-term issue or a recent trend?
- How has its relevance changed over time?

By refining your topic, you'll develop a focused research question that is manageable and meaningful.

Nutrition & Dietetics Research & News

Explore the following resources to find research topics, conduct background research, and stay current on the latest in nutrition & dietetics.

Journals

Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior

Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Public Health Nutrition

Clinical Nutrition ESPEN

USDA Feeds

Policy Memos - Child Nutrition Programs

Policy Memos - Food Distribution Programs

Policy Memos - Farmers' Market Nutrition Program

Lifecycle Nutrition Information

USDA Life Stage Nutrition The USDA's Life Stage Nutrition resource provides tailored nutrition guidance for all life stages, from pregnancy to older adulthood. It offers evidence-based recommendations, dietary guidelines, and tools to support healthy eating at every stage of life.
ACOG Good Health Before Pregnancy: Pregnancy Care The ACOG Prepregnancy Care guide provides essential health recommendations for women planning a pregnancy. It covers key topics like nutrition, lifestyle, medical conditions, vaccinations, and prenatal vitamins to help optimize health before conception.

USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)

USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) from the USDA provides reliable nutrition resources for professionals, educators, and the public. It offers research-based dietary guidelines, food safety information, and tools on topics like life stage nutrition, dietary supplements, and meal planning.

ScienceDaily Nutrition Research News Feed

Current Periodicals

Today's Dietitian Issues & Trends Archive The Issues & Trends Archive on Today's Dietitian offers a comprehensive collection of articles that delve into current topics in nutrition and dietetics.
Today's Dietitian Current Issue Today's Dietitian magazine. The Current Issue page provides access to the newest articles on evidence-based nutrition, emerging health topics, industry news, and expert commentary for dietitians and nutrition professionals.

Top Nutrition Trends:

Dairy Council of California – Trends & Insights key nutrition and dairy industry trends, including consumer behaviors, sustainability, and evolving dietary guidelines.
KHNI Ten Key Health and Nutrition Trends for 2025 top health and nutrition trends shaping the year, including functional foods, personalized nutrition, and sustainability.
Natural Grocers – 2025 Trends upcoming health, nutrition, and sustainability trends shaping the year, from functional foods to eco-friendly living.
Healthy Eating – Nutrition Topics science-based nutrition information on healthy eating, dairy, meal planning, and wellness trends.