NUTR 501 Research Methods

Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.

Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.

Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.

Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.

NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.

Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.

EBSCO Open Dissertations: previously American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-present provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities.

Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.