Research Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Reference Sources

Biochemistry: Protein, Nucleotide, DNA, RNA, etc.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (http://www.ncbi.nih.gov/)
The premier center in the United States for molecular biology databases, including PubMed. For amino sequence/protein structure, try searching the Protein database. The Nucleotide database is good for finding gene nucleotide sequence.

Protein Data Bank (http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/home/home.do)
The RCSB PDB provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease. The RCSB is a member of the wwPDB whose mission is to ensure that the PDB archive remains an international resource with uniform data. This site offers tools for browsing, searching, and reporting that utilize the data resulting from ongoing efforts to create a more consistent and comprehensive archive.

Material Safety Data Sheets

Handbooks & Encyclopedia

Aldrich Handbook of Find Chemicals and Laboratory Equipment. Milwaukee, WI: Aldrich. Ref TP202 A38

Beilsteins Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. Berlin, J. Springer, 1918-QD251 B4 1918 ORCA Storage

CRC Handbook fo Chemistry and Physics. Cleveland, OH: CRC PRess. Ref QD65 H3

Dictionary of Organic Compounds. 6th ed. 1996. New York: Chapman and Hall.Ref QD246 D5

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 5th ed. NY: Wiley. Ref TP9 .K54 2004

Gmelin Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Leipzig-Berlin, Verlag Chemie, g.j.b.h., 1924- QD151 G52 ORCA Storage

Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals and drugs. 13th ed. 2001. Rahway, NJ: Merck. Ref RS356 M524

In addition, go to OneSearch catalog. Enter the following Knovel titles and you can search for your data electronically:

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Knovel Critical Tables
Smithsonian Physical Tables

Thermodynamic Tables

JANAF Thermochemical Tables 4th floor stacks QD511 N57 1998

TRC Thermodynamic Tables, Hydrocarbons. College Station, TX: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A&M University System, 1985- (QD305 H5 T44) 12 volumes, loose leaf

TRC Thermodynamic Tables, Non-Hydrocarbons. College Station,TX: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A&M University System, 2985- (QD305 H5 T45) 9 volumes, loose leaf

Also, look in OneSearch Catalog under Subject: Thermodynamics -- Tables

Chemical Properties

ChemSpider: RSC resource searchable by name, CAS RN, SMILES string, InChI key, chemical properties. Also contains name, synonym, experimental and predicted properties data

PubChem- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Database Help

NIST Webbook- Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Database Help

Spectra

SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra. Database Help