Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
Chicano DatabaseOver 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. Coverage is in all subject areas, and includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. Coverage: 1965 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-presentNewspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
Latino American ExperienceThe Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
America: History and LifeProvides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
California Newspaper ArchiveFull text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
ERIC (via EBSCO)References to thousands of Education topics. Provides access to (1) Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), indexing approximately 750 journal and serial publications, and (2) Resources in Education (RIE), which includes lesson plans, research/technical reports, and other documents. Coverage: 1966 to present. Updated monthly.
GenderWatch40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color.
Coverage: 1978 to present.
GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
MLA International BibliographyCitations to scholarly books, to critical articles/essays from scholarly journals and books, and to doctoral dissertations, on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, world-wide since the 5th century CE. Includes some material on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature as well. Covers 1926 to present. Updated ten times per year.
SocINDEX Full TextSocINDEX provides abstracts to articles on topics of abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociology, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1940 to present, with some abstracts back to 1895. Updated monthly.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over many links to the full-text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher covers current events and "hot" issues in the news. Each weekly issue provides a summary of the issue, plus the pros-cons, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Coverage: full text 1991 to date
PDF text 1996 to date
Historical Los Angeles TimesFull text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times starting from 1881 to the present, (last 13 years excluded). Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. See also database: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
JSTORJSTOR is a growing archive of over 500 full text scholarly journals. This large, interdisciplinary collection covers journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Current issues are usually NOT included.
Coverage: Historic coverage with some current issues.
Latino LiteratureLatino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Latino and Latina writers working in the United States.
Covers Nineteenth century to the present, an archive it is not updated.
LatAm-Estudios Texto CompletoLatAm-Estudios Texto Completo (or LatAm-Studies Full Text online) provides dissemination of scholarly research and journal articles from 46 South and Central Latin America, the Caribbean and Mexico universities and institutes. Subjects covered include finance, trade, environment, human resource development, history, languages, culture, local government, fisheries, tourism, education and research on women.
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb
Get It @ CSULB
This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).
Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.
If you have any problems, please report them at the link below: