Research Guides: CHLS 310 Chicano Thought and Action: Find Articles & Newspapers

Where can I find primary newpaper articles?

A few examples of primary material in newspapers include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window Provides historical background on more than thirty border areas in the world. Collection of text, media, primary sources you can search or use themes such as border disputes, crossings, human trafficking, migration, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Hundreds of Spanish-language newspaper articles from 1808 to 1980, with some articles also appearing in English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Vault This link opens in a new window Includes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press This link opens in a new window 1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb
Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window Examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the early 21st century. 30+ thematic units representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Where can I find primary journal articles?

A few examples of primary material in journals include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Jr of San Diego History

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window

Where can I find primary magazines articles?

A few examples of primary material in magazines include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Nuestro magazine 1985

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window