Educational Leadership: Open Access

Open Access is a movement in scholarly institutions, universities and libraries to provide free access for students, faculty, alumni and the commnity to scholarly publications.

To read more about Open Access visit Wikipedia for a good overview.

All of the CSULB Library's databases are available in the University Library to students, faculty, staff and the community.  However, off campus, these databases are limited to students, faculty and staff of California State University, Long Beach. The database, ERIC from the US Department of Education is freely available to all and requires no password.  And the database, Google Scholar, is also freely available and is rich in indexing education journals.

• ERIC via US Govt web site

  Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1 2004, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.

• Google Scholar

  Free index to scholarly articles.

The Education and the Public Interest Center (EPIC) at the University of Colorado at Boulder and the Education Policy Research Unit (EPRU) and the Commercialism in Education Research Unit (CERU) at Arizona State University collaborate to sponsor research, produce policy briefs, and publish expert third party reviews of think tank reports. The center's publications are written in accessible language and are intended for a broad audience that includes academic experts, policy makers, the media, and the general public. Our goal is provide high quality information in support of democratic deliberation about education policy.

EPIC and EPRU also created, in 2007, the Education Policy Alliance, a nationwide network of university-based research centers and organizations.