Research Guides: Engineering Summer Academy (BESST): Doing Research! (finding journal articles and books)

Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Engineering and Construction Management
ASME Mechanical Engineering
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mechanical Engineering
Biological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
For biomedical - use with Compendex
Compendex (via Engineering Village)
- This link opens in a new window
THIS is the MOST COMPREHENSIVE engineering database
Many items identified as document type “conference proceeding” “or conference proceedings “or “conference articles” in Compendex are not published, making it difficult for BeachReach (Interlibrary Loan) to obtain a copy. However, authors often publish their findings in journal articles, so searching for the author(s) and their titles/topics may help you locate journal articles on the same topic(s) by the same author(s). If you need help, you may also contact Hema.Ramachandran@csulb.edu.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electrical Engineering
PubMed@CSULB
- This link opens in a new window
For Biomedical Engineering - use with Compendex
SciFinder Web
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
To access SciFinder,
1. Go to SciFinder Sign-Up Page
2. Use your CSULB email address to register
TRID
Transportation and transit research

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database
ABI/INFORM Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Business database

BIOL Biological Sciences Subject Guide
by Norah DeBellis Last Updated Jan 15, 2025 40 views this year

Chemistry & Biochemistry
by Khue Duong Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 89 views this year

Engineering
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Nov 18, 2024 21 views this year

Health Science
by Michelle DeMars Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 50 views this year

Physics and Astronomy
by Khue Duong Last Updated Dec 21, 2023 15 views this year

Earth Science
by Khue Duong Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 54 views this year
Environmental Science and Policy
by Khue Duong Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 23 views this year

LinkedIn Learning
- This link opens in a new window
Business, software, technology and creative skills training
Kanopy Streaming Videos
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC etc. Find media on engineering professions.
Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar if you cannot find relevant information in any of the databases!

Patents, Inventors and Entrepreneurship
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Jul 17, 2024 22 views this year

Search the Library Catalog (OneSearch)

Vertical Farming @ CSULB

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

Looking at your results

Can you IDENTIFY all the parts of a journal article citation?

Author
Year
Title
DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
Journal Title
Volume
Issue
Page numbers

Engineering Summer Academy (BESST): Doing Research! (finding journal articles and books)

Search the Library Catalog (OneSearch)

About OneSearch

OneSearch Tutorials

Get It @ CSULB

Looking at your results