Research Guides: Health Science Course Guides: HSC Group Project Resources

Group Projects

Starting points for topics & to address bullet points listed for each group topic

Use Citation Generators to cite sources if no help available:

Research advocacy & at minimum address these questions:

MedlinePlus.gov
Search MedlinePlus: advocacy
find topics that are advocated for & organizations that advocate for health

Research health disparities/inequities & at minimum address these questions:

What are the definitions of Health Disparity/Inequity?
What are some health disparities/inequities that exist in the US?
Why is this an issue?
What kinds of initiatives are being conducted to alleviate health disparities.inequities?

MedlinePlus.gov
Search MedlinePlus: disparities
find definitions, types that exist in US, initiatives to alleviate

Research Alternative and Complimentary Health Practices & at minimum address these questions:

What is alternative and complimentary health? (aka, complementary & alternative medicince/CAM)
Give at least 8 examples
How often is it used in the US? (Stats)
What are the pros?
What are the cons?

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Research Health Education Professional Organizations & at minimum address these bullet points:

Describe the following professional organizations: APHA, SCPHA, AAHE, SOPHE, SCSOPHE, CASHE, ASHA
Why are they important?
For each describe:
- What is their mission?
- What were the benefits?
- Membership Information/Costs?
- Publications?

AcronymFinder
Find out what any acronym, abbreviation, or initialism stands for
find appropriate meaning
may be linked to organization information & website
if not, search Google, Bing, Yahoo with organization name

Research GIS and health education & at minimum address these questions:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Research Bioterrorism/Emergency Preparedness & at minimum address these questions:

What are some potential bioterrorism threats for the US
What is being done to prevent or prepare for a BT event?
What are county health departments doing to prepare?
What is emergency preparedness?
What are some potential positions for a health educator in relation to emergency preparedness?
What can everyone do to prepare for an emergency? (tips)

CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response
emergency tips, types of threats, prevention
MedlinePlus.gov
Search MedlinePlus: bioterrorism
Society for Public Health Education
health educators' roles in emergency preparedness
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Bioterrorism, threats, emergency preparedness
Directory of Local Health Departments (LHD Index)
Find State and then local health department or search by zip code. Using the name of the local health department, find their website (i.e., Google search) & check their websites for emergency preparedness programs
Disaster Information Management Research Center
health information resources & technology for disaster preparedness

Research Gerontology & at minimum address these questions:

What is it?
What are some common issues found among elderly individuals?
What are the requirements for the certificate in gerontology at CSULB?
Why would it be important to have a degree or a certificate in this area?
What other schools in California offer similar degrees/certificates in gerontolgy?

Research Top 10 leading causes of death & at minimum answer these questions:

Leading causes of death
US
Top 10 causes of death
World
MedlinePlus.gov
Search cause of death or for narrower search "cause of death" with quotation marks

Research School Health & at minimum address these questions:

What health topics are mandated to be taught in middle school?
What health topics are mandated to be taught in high school?
What is comprehensive school health?
What are the requirements to obtain a credential in school health at CSULB?
Research universities in Calfornia that offer School Health Credentials. What are their requirements?

Research annual physical examination/screenings & at minmum answer these questions:

Include description of what takes place
Complete Metabolic Profile (CMP 12)
Complete Blood Count (CBC)
Urinalysis (UA)
What is considered Normal for each of the values?
What are some indications that can be interpreted from values that are found abnormal?