Skip to Main Content
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from 1,300+ journals and dissertations in fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Has automatic citation builder. 1979 to present.
Abstracts available January 1994 - current.
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts and links to articles in journals of anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles since 1940 included.
Politics Database This link opens in a new window
A collective database on government issue (PAIS: Public Affairs Information Services), politics (WPSA: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and policy (Policy File Index) that covers political science since 1972.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Coverage: 1937 to present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Coverage: 1968 to present.
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color.
Coverage: 1978 to present.
GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
With over 100 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text this collection addresses the essential concepts students will employ in their everyday work as practitioners.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.
Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Web of Science includes the Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions can be found in the library.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online.
Coverage: 1637 to date.
DSM 5 Guided Film Collection This link opens in a new window
The library of over 500 mental health simulations include Assessment Tools, DSM 5 and ICD Guided Films. Topics include: Substance-Related and Addictive Disorders, OCD Series, ADHD Series, Personality Disorder Series, Child & Adolescent Series, and Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Rare archival content, including letters, court documents, periodicals, speeches, interviews and ephemera from local, national and international organizations, as well as notable individuals from around the world, to trace the history of LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the late 19th century to the present day.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.