Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Style Manuals and Citation Methods: More on Citing

What are footnotes?

What are footnotes? What are endnotes?

  • Footnotes are a method of including a superscript number at the end of the quote or paraphrase to guide the reader to the source material. The number refers to a citation at the bottom of the page. Check a style manual such as MLA or Turabian for more information.
  • Endnotes use the same method but instead of including the citation at the bottom of the page they are on a separate page at the end of the paper.

More information:
How do Write Footnotes and Endnotes in MLA Style
Turabian Bibliographic Form: Footnote/Endnote Style from Georgetown University
 

What are in-text citations?

In-text or parenthetical citations generally include a signal phrase (usually the author's name) to alert the author you are using someone's ideas and a reference (usually the page number). 

Examples:

Rose (1994) noted, rap music has both overt and covert political dimensions: "Rap's poetic voice is deeply political in context and spirit, but its hidden struggle--that of access to public space and community resources and the interpretations of Black expression--constitutes rap's hidden politics" (p. 145).

In the past twenty years, hip-hop culture and especially its most popular form of expression, rap music, have spread "from the margins to mainstream" (Stapleton 219). 

More information:
MLA In-text citations
APA In-text citations

What is a bibliography?

A bibliography or works cited page is a list of references or citations used to write a paper or project. It is a list at the end of a paper and gives the reader the basic information they would need to find those items such as the book title, author, journal title, articles title, year, etc..

Sample Bibliographies:
Sample Bibliography or Works Cited in MLA Style
MLA Sample Works Cited Page from OWL at Purdue
Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
Sample Bibliography: Chicago Style

What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography has two parts 1) a list of works with the citation information and, 2) a descriptive or evaluative paragraph about each work.

Out-of-the-Ordinary Sources of Information

How do I cite things like interviews, emails, etc.?
When you are using non-standard sources of information it can be more difficult to cite these sources. The official style manual will be the best resource for a complete description of how to cite. Here are a few web sites with information:

Tip: Use a search engine, like Google, and search for "APA citation ERIC document" or "MLA citation interview" to find more examples.

Where can I get help with citing?