Skip to Main Content 
Scholarly Articles
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts from 1,300+ journals and dissertations in fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Has automatic citation builder. 1979 to present.
Abstracts available January 1994 - current.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Updated daily.
Politics Database This link opens in a new window
A collective database on government issue (PAIS: Public Affairs Information Services), politics (WPSA: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and policy (Policy File Index) that covers political science since 1972.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts and links to articles in journals of anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles since 1940 included.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Full-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
Background & Context
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. Coverage is in all subject areas, and includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. Coverage: 1965 to present.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window
Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
Statistics
Policy Map This link opens in a new window
Create maps, tables, and reports with PolicyMap an online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.
