Research Guides: Women's / Gender Studies: Internet Resources

Selected Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies (WGSS) Internet Resources

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites
A selective, annotated web site containing resources and information about women's studies/women's issues with emphasis on sites of use to an academic women's studies program.
WWW Virtual Library Women’s History
“The main purposes of this virtual library are to list women's history institutions and organizations, locate archival and library collections, and provide links to Internet resources on women's history. In addition, also included are a list of women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general.”
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

The database offers the following features:
- Detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections
- Quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page
- Options for browsing by subject (300+ entries), place, time period, and primary source type
- Options for narrowing search results by subject, time period, place, and primary source type
- RSS feeds (at right) alert users to new records in the database.
Women Working 1800-1930
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Feminist Theory Website
Provides research materials and information for students, activists, and scholars interested in women's conditions and struggles around the world
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Over 2000 citations to internet and print sources: digital collections of primary sources, archival collections, bibliographies, and biographical sources.
Queer Resources Directory
"QRD is an electronic library with news clippings, political contact information, newsletters, essays, images, hyperlinks, and every other kind of information resource of interest to the GLBO community."
Lesbian Herstory Archives
“The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.”
Voices of the Shuttle
Lists of gender and sexuality studies websites.
Women Watch
This is the United Nations portal for the advancement and empowerment of women. Includes region and country-specific information on women's issues.