Research Guides: CE 101: Journal articles

OneSearch

OneSearch is a discovery tool that allows you to search most everything the CSULB Library owns or has access to through one simple search box to retrieve credible, authoritative, and suitable articles (and books and media). It solves the problem of not knowing where to start.

Keep in mind though, OneSearch searches most but not ALL library databases (for instance it does not search Compendex).

In addition use the databases below for your project

Databases (to find journal articles)

Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window The ASCE Library provides access to journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Coverage: 1970 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window table {mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\."; mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\,";} tr {mso-height-source:auto;} col {mso-width-source:auto;} td {padding-top:1px; padding-right:1px; padding-left:1px; mso-ignore:padding; color:black; font-size:11.0pt; font-weight:400; font-style:normal; text-decoration:none; font-family:Calibri, sans-serif; mso-font-charset:0; text-align:general; vertical-align:bottom; border:none; white-space:nowrap; mso-rotate:0;} An engineering reference (e.g. Handbooks) and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window Material from newspapers, websites, journals, case studies, as well as videos, primary footage, and simulations of major engineering failures all exploring issues of engineering ethics. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
GeoScienceWorld with GeoRef This link opens in a new window GeoRef contains over 3.5 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. GeoScienceWorld has over 45 full text journals, some back to the 1920s. Citations from 1785 to present; full text availability varies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit This link opens in a new window Abstracts that link to scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations on topics like accounting, economics, finance, international economics, labor, population forecasting, etc. 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TRID This link opens in a new window From the Transportation Research Board, a collection of reports and articles on worldwide transportation covering all modes, economics, and disciplines of transportation.

Art Index This link opens in a new window Art Index includes more than 600 English-language journals worldwide on all aspects of art and artists including advertising, photography, museum studies, archaeology, fashion, and design. Also indexes reproductions of art works and art dissertations. (Funded in part by a grant from the CSULB Alumni Association) Coverage: 1929 to date.
- This link opens in a new window

Databases follow some basic principles:
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are used to combine terms in the following ways with parentheses to group the terms:

AND    Both words must be present
OR    Either or both words must be present
NOT    The first but not the second word must be present

Use quotation marks to search as a phrase, in the exact order you type them, example “rapid prototyping”.
Use an asterisk to search for multiple versions of a word at once by truncating the terms. For example, typing comput* will allow you to search for compute, computer, computers or computing.
Use Limits, i.e., date range, document type..
Search fields, i.e., author, title, abstract, etc.

All database allow you to email or print results (in different citation formats), save records, provide search history, show related topics/articles. Many provide "cited by" references. Most of our databases allow for citations to be downloaded to Endnote.

CE 101: Journal articles

OneSearch

Databases (to find journal articles)

Getting the Full Text of an Article

Not Available at CSULB?