Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Special Collections and University Archives is located on the 3rd Floor (Room 300) of the Library.

Archivist and Special Collections Librarian

Today's Hours

Today's Hours:
View all hours

To contact SPUA staff, please call: (562) 985-4087

Special Collections

Special Collections contains unusual and valuable materials including:

  • Examples of early printing and binding as well as contemporary fine press publications

    The oldest item in the Library's collections is found in our Special Collections.
  •  
  • Original photographic prints from such artists as Ansel Adams and Edward Weston
  • Fine art prints from such artists as Daumier, Kollwitz, Johns, Currier & Ives, and many others
  • Rare editions and letters related to such authors as D. H. Lawrence, Robinson Jeffers, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Virginia Woolf, and many more.
  • Collections of writings by CSULB faculty (such as the Gerald Locklin Collection) or collections initiated by CSULB Faculty (The Venice Collection, The Oral History Collection, and The Howard Sherain Collection).

descriptive listing of all of CSULB's Special Collections is available. Images from the Fine Arts Collection are also available for viewing via the Web.

Special Collections and University Archives is located on the 3rd Floor (Room 300) of the Library.

 

University Archives

University Archives contains materials which chronicle the history of the Library and the University and its surrounding community, including:

  • A complete set of back issues of the CSULB student newspaper, the Daily Forty-Niner
  • Minutes and official records of academic departments and campus governance organizations
  • Official papers of local political figures, such as Vincent Thomas and Mark Hannaford.

Certain documents in University Archives, notably pages from historical CSULB catalogs, schedules of classes, yearbooks, and course syllabi, usually can be photocopied without harm to the original. Please review our Photocopying Services Policy [ Word ] or [ PDF ].

General Hours

Special Collections / University Archives Hours

Fall / Spring Semester

Hours

Monday - Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday Closed

Summer

Hours
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 12:00pm
Saturday and Sunday Closed

Library Building Hours and closings

On the web