EDEL 472 Teaching and Learning History-Social Science, K-8
Library research tips and resources for EDEL 472 students
Your Librarian
Finding Children's Books to use
Tips for finding children's social studies and history literature focused on marginalized groups and additional narratives
- Use more recent books, 20 years old or less
- Look for authors of color
- Look at a book's cover
Start with the CA curriculum, and then use other items to teach the bigger picture.
-
Nonfiction
- Biographies and informational texts
- Use your keywords in OneSearch and use the "location" feature on the left to select "nonfiction"
- Find a call number related to your subject and you should find books on your topic for all ages
-
Fiction
- Picture books, chapter books, historical fiction
- Use your keywords in OneSearch and use the "location" feature on the left to limit to "Children's Fiction" for chapter books or "Children's Picture" for picture books
Finding Primary Sources
Primary Sources
Anything created at the time of the event
- In OneSearch conduct an Advanced Keyword Search
Limit your results in the Publication Date drop down menu to your time-period
Do not limit these searches to Children's Collection, as many primary sources are in our larger collection.
- In Databases select types: Primary Sources, and scroll to find a good one for your topic, check the years covered.
- Newspaper and Magazine articles - Historical Los Angeles Times 1881-,
- Images – Artstor -Type in keywords and your time-period. You must create an account to download images.
- Diaries, autobiographies, oral histories - North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
- Government documents – laws, decrees – History Vault
Documents and Images Archives
- History Vault Includes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
- JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- Black Abolitionist Papers Primary source of individual and community activism within the Black abolitionist community. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
- Border and Migration Studies Online Provides historical background on more than thirty border areas in the world. Collection of text, media, primary sources you can search or use themes such as border disputes, crossings, human trafficking, migration, etc.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. ... Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.
- Queen Victoria's Journals These diaries cover the period from Queen Victoria's childhood days to her Accession to the Throne, marriage to Prince Albert, and her Golden and Diamond Jubilees.
- Revolution and Protest Online Examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the early 21st century. 30+ thematic units representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics.
Free Resources
Key for when you are no longer a student here
- California Digital Newspaper Collection A collection of free full text searchable historic newspapers, inlcuding these: • California Star 1847-1848 • Daily Alta California 1849-1891 • Imperial Valley News 1901-1911 • Los Angeles Herald 1905-1911 • Pacific Rural Press (SF) 1871-1922 • Sacramento Daily Union 1851-1898 • San Francisco Call 1890-1913
- Stanford History Education Group History Lessons and Assessments
- National Archives The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Newspapers and Magazine Archives
- Women's Magazine Archive Collection 1 & 2 (1846 - 2005) Access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman’s Day, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
- American Periodicals, 1740-1900 Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
- California Newspaper Archive Full text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This offers fully searchable, facsimile reproductions of 650 historical American newspapers. Northern & “Old Northwest” newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s.
- Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 A full text African American newspaper available from 1905-1975. Historical research on civil rights, segregation, African American migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and the modern civil rights movement. Also published the works of Black authors, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes.
- Historical Hartford Courant, 1764 - 1992 America's longest continuously published newspaper, the Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation. Firsthand accounts of colonist reactions to the Stamp Act, Boston Tea Party and a copy of the Declaration of Independence. Coverage of 1764-1990, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
- Historical Los Angeles Times Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- Historical New York Times Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- Times (of London) Digital Archive Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
Video and Audio Databases
- Academic Video Online More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
- Films on Demand More than 20,000 streaming films in 24 subject areas from major producers, including ABC News, BBC, Frontline, National Geographic, NBC News, NOVA, and PBS.
- Human Rights Studies Online Access documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Coverage of Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional areas.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. ... Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.
- Revolution and Protest Online Examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the early 21st century. 30+ thematic units representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics.
What age?
There are many factors that determine the appropriate age to read a book, and it can be hard if you haven't read the book, or don't know the child. (Labeling books by age is a problem, since a child with lower reading skills having to select "little kid" books to find something they CAN read successfully can turn them off reading.)
Two major considerations:
-
Reading DIFFICULTY
-
CONTENT understanding
Recommendations from teachers or librarians who know the child and the books, are an excellent way to find appropriate books.
Publishers usually assign an age range to the books. These are some of the designations you will see:
-
Newborn to age 3 (Board Books)
-
Ages 1 and up - Where the Wild Things Are
-
Ages 3–8 (Picture Books)
-
Ages 5–9 (Early or Leveled Readers)
-
Ages 6–9 or 7–10 (First Chapter Books)
-
Ages 8–12 (Middle-Grade Books) -Harry Potter 1
-
Ages 10 and up - Hunger Games, Harry Potter 7, Thirteen Reasons Why
-
Ages 12 and up or 14 and up (Young Adult (YA) Books) Twilight
These publisher designations can not determine both content AND difficulty, only a suggested age range to sell the book.
Children's Collection Call Numbers
Room 200
- Picture Books (PZ8)
- Juvenile Fiction (chapter books) (PZ7)
- Young Adult literature collection (PZ7.5)
- Beginning (easy) Readers (PZ6)
- Children's Graphic Novels (all call numbers)
Room 204
- Non-Fiction Books (LC Subjects A-Z)
- K-12 Curriculum (LC Subjects A-Z)
- Children's Poetry (PZ5)
- Oversized books (all call numbers)
- Audiobooks and DVDs (all call numbers)
- Braille Books (all call numbers)
Children's Books available via eBook or streaming Audiobook
- YA eBooks at CSULBA list of eBooks and audiobooks that you can stream from home. For audiobooks you will use an app. Search these titles in OneSearch to access them.
Using the K-12 Curriculum Collection
The K-12 Curriculum collection of kids textbooks is located in room 204. Usually the best way to find what you are looking for is just to go browse the small collection. Series are arranged by the subject call numbers, and are labeled with their grade level. In most cases there are both the student book and the teacher manual included.
You can also use OneSearch and location: k 12 curriculum. Enter your subject, e.g. math, and get a list of what we have.