COVID 19 Updates (including instructions on returning books, curbside pickup etc.)
I-Space (3D printing, Virtual Reality, Immersive lab and more!)
Off-Campus Access (via your Campus ID and password)
My Library Account (via your Campus ID and password)
Interlibrary Services (Info on CSU+ and BeachReach)
Information resouces play a very important role in the brainstorming process:
Using the library's databases and other information resources will assist you in trying to answer these questions espeically in the conceptual phase of the design process.
Have a question about the Library? Ask below...
When you have tried all the appropriate databases from the library and still have not found the information you need, try Google Scholar - you may be able to unearth that nugget of information you need!
Watch this video to set your user preferances so you can connect to full-text at CSULB.
Check the main Enginering guide for more resources.
Use these databases to find technical information.
Use these databases to find manufacturers, market potential, costs etc.
Access the Business guide to find more databases.
This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).
Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.
If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.
This is where you add a few new books in your subject area.
OneSearch is now the CSULB library catalog. In addition to searching the CSULB collection, you can also search and request physical items from the CSU libraries. Use OneSearch to find books, eBooks, CD's, DVD's, videos, journal titles and other material available in the CSULB and the other CSU Libraries.
The two major EBook collections for Engineering are Safari and Books 24 x7. See eBooks for more information. The individual titles from these collections are included in OneSearch. Books 24x7 requires Univ ID and Password for access (on-campus and off-campus)
We also have access to many government publications via OneSearch that are freely available on the Internet. Government publications are important for many engineering disciplines.
Please see box on right hand side to search OneSearch and the box below for guides and video tutorials.
University of Pittsburgh has an excellent description of Google Books
Useful for searching the contents of books.
Example: UAV (unmanned aerial vehicles). Popular topic for Aerospace capstone project
If full-text is not available in Google Books search COAST/LINK + to see if book is available or request via Illiad.
All these reference books are located on the first floor of the Library in the Reference collection. They cannot be checked out; please make photocopies OR SCAN relevant pages.
AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide 1998 TL551 .A32 2003
Aircraft Conceptual Design Synthesis 2000 TL671.2 .H635 2000
Aircraft Design: a Conceptual Approach TL671.2.R29 2012.
Airplane Design (by Jan Roskam) TL671.2 .R67 1986 8 parts
pt. I. Preliminary sizing of airplanes -- pt. II. Preliminary configuration design and integration of the propulsion system -- pt. III. Layout design of cockpit, fuselage, wing, and empennage, cutaways and inboard profiles -- pt. IV. Layout of landing gear and systems -- pt. V. Component weight estimation -- pt. VI. Preliminary calculation of aerodynamic, thrust, and power characteristics -- pt. VII. Determination of stability, control, and performance characteristics, FAR and military requirements -- pt. VIII. Airplane cost estimation, design, development, manufacturing and operating.
The Aviation & Aerospace Almanac 2002 TL501 .A95 2002
Fundamentals of aircraft and airship design TL671.2 .N5 2010
Handbook of Fluid Dynamics TA357 .H2858 1998
Jane's all the world's aircraft 2002/03 TL501 .J3 (previous volumes can be requested via ORCA)
Standard Handbook for Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineers 2003 TL509 .S6642003
Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers TJ151 .M4 2007
Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook TJ151 .M3953 2001
Technical Reports are part of Gray Literature or "Grey Literature."
Their main characteristics are:
TRAIL Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is an initiative led by the University of Arizona in collaboration with CRL and other interested agencies to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
Virtual Technical Reports Collections (University of Maryland Libraries provides links to full-text or searchable extended abstracts of technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports in all disciplines.