Welcome to the Business Research Toolkit
This guide is designed to help you navigate research resources available through the CSULB University Library.
Top Databases for Business Research
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limited to 30 downloads per session. Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
- MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies. - ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ReferenceUSA is a database providing access to information on over 25 million businesses and more than 262 million consumers. Business listings include such data as company names, phone numbers, complete addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores.
- Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers up to 175 markets worldwide. It provides daily alerts and news stories, country risk ratings, economic analyses and forecasts. It also contains market research and forecast reports covering about 14 industries in 55 countries and a database of thousands of multinational companies.
- Value Line Investment Survey Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information and advice on approximately 1700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Provides year-ahead to three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and commentary on current operations and future prospects. Last 5 years worth of stock information. Allows 3 simultaneous users.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information in the USA.
- Policy Map This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps, tables, and reports with PolicyMap an online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research. - iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. sampling of registered voters on public opinions. Find aggregated question-level data and other survey data only at the national level.
