Research Guides: BIOL 433 / 533 Developmental Biology: Databases

Use Databases to find articles

What's your research topic?

Identify keywords and phrases that best describe what you are looking for

If the keywords do not appear in the titles or abstracts of your results check out PubMed's MeSH to help you find better search terms.

Use Databases to Find Articles

The best bet for your database search is to use PubMed@CSULB

PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window

Web of Science is also recommended and provides helpful citation linking tools

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ScienceDirect is a a full-text database

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive This link opens in a new window SORA is an open access electronic journal archive that provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
- This link opens in a new window
TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource) This link opens in a new window The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana
- This link opens in a new window

JSTOR Global Plants

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals Online Collection This link opens in a new window SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Coverage: 1997-present Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Free Biology Databases