Research Guides: Book Reviews: Book Reviews

New Book Review Sources

Sources for new book reviews. Some of these may require login or subscription.

Books Published AFTER 1900

Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982 Book Review Digest Retrospective provides review excerpts and citations for over 300,000 adult and juvenile books, totaling over a million citations. Excludes government publications, textbooks, and technical books in sciences and law.
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management as far back as the mid-1960s.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window

New York Times Book Reviews
You can search for and read reviews 1981 to present.

Books Published BEFORE 1899

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This offers fully searchable, facsimile reproductions of 650 historical American newspapers. Northern & “Old Northwest” newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals, 1740-1900 Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (of London) Digital Archive Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Print Review Sources

Looking for reviews of older books? These print indexes located in the library might help you find what you are looking for.

Book Review Digest Annual
Print index for finding book reviews 1982 - 2011
Book Review Index
Print index to book reviews 1965 to 2017.
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Print index published from 1960-1990.
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974
Print index to book reviews.

Other Review Sites

The Complete Review A selectively comprehensive, objectively opinionated survey of books old and new, trying to meet all your book review, preview, and information needs.

Your Librarian

Cathy Outten

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: American Language Institute, Child Development & Family Studies, Children's Literature, Liberal Studies