Research Guides: MGMT 425: Strategy &amp; Policy (Batiste): Internal Analysis

Internal Analysis

An internal analysis is an exploration of your organization’s competency, cost position, and competitive viability in the marketplace.

Research Tips for Finding Company Information:

Determine whether the company is public or private.
Be sure you are researching the official name of the company. Many companies have popular names that may not be listed anywhere. For example, 3M is really Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing.
If the company name is a common word such as Apple or Amazon and you tend to retrieve articles about rivers (Amazon) or fruit (Apple), try adding in Inc. or Corp. after the name.
If you are researching a subsidiary, expand your research to include the parent corporation. For example, Google is under its parent company Alphabet.

Databases for Company Profiles

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limited to 30 downloads per session. Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
Value Line Investment Survey Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information and advice on approximately 1700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Provides year-ahead to three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and commentary on current operations and future prospects. Last 5 years worth of stock information. Allows 3 simultaneous users.