Skip to Main Content
Statistical Databases
Historical Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.: 1878-2012
Offers the opportunity for researchers to look into the past to discover the economic trends, the social climate and the demographic makeup of the U.S., and easily compare that to current day trends.
Statista
Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.
U.S. Data & Statistics
National and regional statistics from 70 federal agencies supplemented with links to non-governmental and international statistics sites. Maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.
Statistical Data Websites
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS analyzes and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
California Department of Justice Crime Statistics
This site from the State of California, Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General provides access to state-related crime statistics.
Explore Census Data
Databases provided by the Bureau of the Census including: Annual Survey of Manufactures, Census Tract Street Locator, USA Counties 1996, and ZIP Code Business Patterns.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement.
Federal Bureau of Prisons: Statistics
This site provides a statistical overview of the federal prison system.
General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) is an almost annual, "omnibus," personal interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) with James A. Davis, Tom W. Smith, and Peter V. Marsden as principal investigators (PIs). The first survey took place in 1972 and since then more than 38,000 respondents have answered over 3,260 different questions. Key features of the GSS are its broad coverage, its use of replication, and its cross-national perspective.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Crime, prisoner, victim and parole data at the federal and state level. Has SPSS downloads and codebooks.
United States Sentencing Commission
This site lists sentencing statistics by circuit court and state. Raw data files about individual offenders, organizational offenders, special collections, and special reports are available for download.
