Gale eBooks Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of about 900 encyclopedias and other reference books from several publishers across many disciplines that can be searched at one time.
Sage Research Methods (SRM)This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool with links to more than 100,000 pages from books and journals plus new videos on research methods from one of the top publishers of research methodology content. Primary focus is on methodology rather than disciplines, so it can be used across social and behavioral sciences.
Provides numerous statistical documents relating to criminal justice. Categories include crimes and victims, criminal offenders, the justice system, and crime and justice data from other justice-related organizations.
"Several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States."
Homeland Security Digital Library"The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security."
Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975This link opens in a new windowA full text African American newspaper available from 1905-1975. It is important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, African American migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and the modern civil rights movement. The Defender also published the works of African American authors, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes.
Historical Los Angeles TimesThis link opens in a new windowFull text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Historical New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowFull text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowReports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Updated daily.
Communication SourceThis link opens in a new windowCommunication Source provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Criminal Justice AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Coverage: 1968 to present.
Updated quarterly.
Politics DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowA collective database on government issue (PAIS: Public Affairs Information Services), politics (WPSA: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and policy (Policy File Index) that covers political science since 1972.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.
Public Administration AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowArticles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
Social Services AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts from 1,300+ journals and dissertations in fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Has automatic citation builder. 1979 to present.
Abstracts available January 1994 - current.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.
Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
WestlawThis link opens in a new windowFull-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
Contains abstracts and some full text of approximately 180,000 criminal justice publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowFind in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
Opposing ViewpointsThis link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowU.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
SocINDEX Full TextThis link opens in a new windowIncludes abstracts and links to articles in journals of anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles since 1940 included.
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowA summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Web of Science includes the Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions can be found in the library.
