Research Guides: BIOL 153 Intro to Marine Biology &amp; BIOL 353 Marine Biology: Streaming Media

Streaming Media Collections

Streaming Media

Streaming media refers to audio and video content that can be accessed and played on the internet. These digital libraries are accessible to CSULB students and Faculty and require a CSULB ID for off-campus access.

To access these resources, you can utilize OneSearch (Books & Media) to search by title, or you can directly navigate to specific collections from this page. Within each collection, you will have the ability to search for specific songs and videos.

For a complete list go to the University Library's streaming media

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window More than 800 streaming video documentaries in more than 25 academic subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 20,000 streaming films in 24 subject areas from major producers, including ABC News, BBC, Frontline, National Geographic, NBC News, NOVA, and PBS.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window Business, software, technology and creative skills training from a leading online learning company. Brush up on existing skills or learn new subjects. High-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Videos - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window The Films on Demand Nursing collection provides access to over 1300 nursing-related online streaming titles from numerous distributors. The videos cover a range of topics from academic success skills, patient care, and social conditions.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TED Talks - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 1,000 of the talks presented at the semi-annual TED Conferences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ambrose Video Collection This link opens in a new window Over 700 educational videos in science, history, and literature. Includes: Career Decisions: Physical Therapy; The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews; Behavioral Science; AP Human Geography; Great Directors; Great Authors; all 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education in Video This link opens in a new window This multi-volume collection contains more than 1,650 hours of video that gives education students a reliable way to observe the intricacies of behavior that define effective teaching styles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window Brings together multimedia materials around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Bioengineering This link opens in a new window JoVE Bioengineering merges both physical and life sciences to understand and predict biological processes. Applying physical science tools to life science questions allow for the discovery of better technologies to measure, diagnose, and clinically treat disease.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window Includes video articles on general biology research methodologies in cell, molecular, and organismal biology, ranging from new applications of standard techniques to novel approaches aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Developmental Biology This link opens in a new window JoVE Developmental Biology includes methods for the study of biological development at all levels, from cellular to whole organisms. Specific topics include gametogenesis and fertilization, embryogenesis, morphogenesis and organogenesis, stem cell biology and nuclear reprogramming, regeneration and repair, mechanisms of differentiation, genetic and epigenetic control of development, evolutionary developmental biology, aging and senescence.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Neuroscience This link opens in a new window JoVE Neuroscience includes methods and techniques for studying the brain and nervous system; also featuring potential treatments for neurological conditions and diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window SAGE Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 200+ hours of structured online learning. The courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of content that includes video, interactives modules, and formative assessments.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window This collection contains videos covering a range of methods needed to carry out effective market research, from traditional techniques to new developments in the field.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swank This link opens in a new window Streaming over 100 major motion pictures that are the most-requested feature films for curriculum support. Students, faculty and staff are able to stream the movies and faculty may link the movies in Canvas and/or show during class.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window