Research Guides: CHLS 150: Introduction to Chicano Literary Studies: Find Articles / Databases

Start here

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly books, to critical articles/essays from scholarly journals and books, and to doctoral dissertations, on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, world-wide since the 5th century CE. Includes some material on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature as well. Covers 1926 to present. Updated ten times per year.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. Coverage is in all subject areas, and includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. Coverage: 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.

Using the following database only if you are having trouble finding information on your selected author.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.