698 - Project Class - Health Care Administration - Research Guides at California State University, Long Beach

Welcome to the Health Care Administration Course Guide for HCA 698.

The information and resources below will help you with your final project and includes health science & business databases and healthcare reimbursement and Medicare fee schedule resources.

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Limited to 30 downloads per session.  Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
- This link opens in a new window

Reimbursement resources

Other HCA resources

Health Care Reform, Health Economics, and Health Policy
In 2005, the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) initiated the creation of HSR Information Central (HSRIC) to serve as a public focal point for important publications and web materials produced within the NLM, as well as outside the NLM, that are of interest to the HSR community. The intent was—and continues to be—to serve the information needs of the health services research (HSR) community.
Agency for Healthcare Reseach & Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

HCA 698 Video Tutorials

Coding Books

Decoding the Codes by Alex Toth
ISBN: 0786312467
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
CodeBusters by Patricia T. Aalseth
ISBN: 0834213176
Publication Date: 1998-12-18