History 673, Native American History
Library Resources (Spring 2020)
Greg Armento, History Librarian (562-985-4367) email@example.com
UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE has an overview of research services available in the library
SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS and REFERENCE MATERIAL
See this list of subject encyclopedias related to Native Americans
FINDING BOOKS, DVDs, PRIMARY SOURCES
To find CSULB Books, use OneSearch Advanced Search
Search for pioneers, politicians and historians as an AUTHOR or SUBJECT or KEYWORD ANYWHERE. Then sort or limit your results by date to locate items published at the same time as the historical event or written during the person's life. These items MAY be primary.
- If you are looking for a phrase "public history" put your terms in quotation marks. It will force word adjacency.
- If you want word variants, use an asterisk * at the end of a word. Entering histor* will produce history, histories, historians, historiography, historical, etc.
To get results with higher relevancy to you topic, use subject keyword searches. These may produce results with higher relevancy to your search.
These subject keywords will tend to find primary historical content
sources personal narratives biography correspondence interviews
letters papers facsimiles pictorial oral history diaries
To find topics relating to memory, or commemoration, try some of these subject words. Add "Indians of North America" or the name of a tribe or historical event:
commemorat* collective memory memorials cemeter* monument* public histor*
If you want to find more results on any of your topics, check the box that reads Books & Media (all CSU) and you will find many more relevant items loanable from other CSU's.
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
- CSU+ To rapidly get books that we don't have, (within 2-4 days) from other libraries.
- BEACH REACH To rapidly get journal articles and some books we don’t have, from other libraries.
These 2 services described here
- WORLDCAT Enormous "worldwide catalog" of books cataloged in libraries Worldwide. Comprehensive resource for identifying and locating obscure topics and titles.
USE ONESEARCH AS A TIME MACHINE TO FIND CONTEMPORARY ACCOUNTS
Search for, politicians, historians or activists by AUTHOR or SUBJECT. Then arrange results by DATE to find publications contemporary to an historical event.
IN-DEPTH HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDES
IDENTIFYING/LOCATING ARCHIVAL MATERIAL
ArchivesGrid will find archival content across the nation
RETROSPECTIVE ARTICLE DATABASES (***means may include Indian perspective)
- ***Alt Press Index, 1960s to date.
- ***American Indian Experience
- Congressional Publications 1789 to date. Full text of hearings, proceedings, serial set
- ***Ethnic Newswatch, 1970s to date. Select menu option "Ethnic Group" and subcategory "Native People".
- Google Advanced Search, Newspapers 1820s to date. Select "newspapers" on the advanced search menu to search content in full text newspapers.
- Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1995 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
- Historical New York Times, 1851-2018 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.
- Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective, 1900-1983. Covers scholarly articles.
- ***Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of An Alternative Press. 1950s to date. Underground, Radical, & Protest Publications.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1900-1983. Covers popular magazines.
CURRENT RESEARCH DATABASES
To find the articles in databases, look for the "GET IT" link in each citation. If we don’t have the article in the building, or online use BeachReach To rapidly get journal articles we don’t have, from other libraries.
Academic Search Complete Scholarly comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage from 1960s to date.
AnthroSource Emphases on North American research.
Dissertations and Theses Full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the early 1900s
Global Newsstream. Full text to hundreds of English language newspapers back to the 1990s
Historical Abstracts (For world history) and America History & Life (for U.S. History) The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in history. Article citations go back to the 1950s
- JSTOR Online Journal Archive Archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.
Westlaw. Look for NEWS section. Covers worldwide newspaper coverage, including some foreign language titles, back to the 1980s
CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS
GOOGLE DOMAIN SEARCH: TECHNIQUES AND TIPS
To find types of domains: type in
site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
In GOOGLE searches place “phrases in quotes” to force word adjacency
Use OR (capitalized) to find synonyms (presidents OR prime ministers OR premiers)
Use domain stems (site:edu; site:org) to find sites in specific Internet realms
- Truncation symbols (e.g. the asterisk*) does not work in GOOGLE
Use GOOGLE SCHOLAR to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this on campus, you may be able to link to full text articles we subscribe to online.
GOOGLE BOOKS may allow you to read chapters of selected books. To find the full book, check COAST or LINK+
ONLINE DOCUMENTS COVERING U.S. POLITICAL HISTORY