Research Guides: Health Science: Find Articles / Databases

Academic Search Complete

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Updated daily.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Coverage: 1937 to present.

PubMed@CSULB

Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases; when articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Coverage: Medline covers 1940's to present. Updated daily.

Cochrane Library

A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers.
Coverage: 1996 to present.
Updated quarterly.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.

Start with These

Using a database will help you find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.

PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window A collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care. Allows users to identify the information they need by topic or category.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
PILOTS Database This link opens in a new window Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. and includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events 1871 - present. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
- This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Resources

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers. Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycArticles is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage: 1985 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window

Health Science