As a student, you have access to many different databases. It can be difficult to know when to use one database versus another. Here is a table of databases that will help you decide which one might have the information you need.
⭐️ = On This Guide
| Database Name | Contains | When to Use |
|---|---|---|
| ⭐️ ABI/INFORM Collection | Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers. | When you need scholarly articles, industry reports, market research or want to explore a specific company's profile. |
| ⭐️ Business Source Complete | Comprehensive collection of scholarly articles, industry reports and SWOT analyses. | When you need academic research or want to understand the strategic position of a specific company. |
|
Fitch Connect |
Credit market research, data, and analytics. | When you're researching the credit market or need financial data. |
| Global Newsstream | International news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. | When you need up-to-date information or want to understand how a business topic is being covered in the news. |
| Human Resource Management Online | HR-related books, courses, case studies, and research. | When your research topic is related to human resources. |
| ⭐️ IBISWorld | Collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. | When you need in-depth reports on industries, including performance, outlook, competition, supply chain, etc. |
| ⭐️ MarketResearch.com | Market research reports covering global industries, countries, and consumer trends. | When you need consumer behavior data or want to understand trends in a specific industry. |
| ⭐️ Mergent Online | Comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information. | When researching detailed company financials, examining industry benchmarks, or comparing companies. |
| ⭐️ ReferenceUSA | Detailed directory of U.S. businesses and consumers. | When you need specific information about a company, or are creating a contact list for businesses in a certain industry or area. |
| ⭐️ Statista | Statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. | When you need reliable statistics or survey results for your research. |
| Checkpoint | Research platform for tax, accounting and finance professionals. | When you need tax, accounting or finance information. |
| CountryWatch | Comprehensive information on countries, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subjects. | When researching specific countries, whether for international business, marketing, or economic analysis. |
| Global Road Warrior | Detailed country profiles focusing on culture, history, language, education, and travel. | When your research topic involves international markets or cultural understanding. |
| International Financial Statistics Online | International financial statistics from the IMF. | When you need international financial data or statistics. |
| ⭐️ Pitchbook | Venture capital, private equity, and M&A data. | When you are researching venture capital, private equity or M&A activities. |
| RMA eStatement Studies | Financial ratios and industry default probabilities. | When you need industry financial benchmarks or want to understand financial risk in a certain industry. |
| Statistical Abstracts of the United States | Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. | When you need U.S. demographic or economic data or want to understand broad trends. |
| TradeStats Express | National trade data and state export data from the U.S. | When you need U.S. trade data or want to understand export trends. |
| Value Line Investment Survey | Investment information service covering stocks, industries, mutual funds and options. | When you're researching investments or want detailed information on stocks or mutual funds. |