International Students Library Resources: Welcome International Students
Quick Links
Accessing Library Resources
Library Hours - view hours for the library, reference desk, and special collections
Off-Campus Access - review how to access library resources off campus using your Campus ID and password
My Library Account - click on Sign in in the top right corner to access your library account
Library Services
Interlibrary Services - Learn how to request materials not in the university library
I-Space - Attend workshops or make an appointment to use the I-SPACE
Help with Research
Help with Research - Connect with a librarian by visiting the reference desk, emailing your subject specialist, scheduling an appointment, or using the 24-hour chat service
Databases by Title and Subject
Search for journal articles by DOI
Learn about Endnote for Reference Management
Learn about Zotero for reference management
Welcome International Students!
Welcome to California State University – Long Beach! The University Library is a comfortable place for you to do research and relax. Your student ID doubles as your library card for checking out physical items and accessing online resources.
Here are a few things you can do at the library:
- Find and check out books and media using OneSearch
- Chat or email a librarian for help
- Access over 300 databases of electronic journals, magazines, and e-books
- Borrow materials from other libraries
- Copy, print, or scan materials for personal or academic use
- Meet with your teammates to work on a project
- Enjoy coffee with friends at the Caffeine Lab
Library Spaces Video
Resources for English
Library Lingo
Reference
Reserve
Call number
Database
Citation
Abstract
Peer Reviewed
Journal
Reference - Encyclopedias etc. that cannot be checked out
Reserve - Books and other items for courses selected by instructors
Call Number - Number on the spine of a book or journal determining its place on the shelf
Database -searchable list of article titles and abstracts
Citation - identifying information of an article (title, author, etc.)
Abstract - summary of an article found at the beginning and in databases
Peer Reviewed - A premium quality journal article that has been reviewed by others knowledgeable in the field prior to publication
Journal - a published collection of articles (previously in print, now frequently online only)
