Skip to main content

Library Science: OneSearch

eBooks

ebook icon, picture of a print book on an ereader tableteBooks

Search the Library Catalog (OneSearch)

OneSearch: ebooks

General Information

Harrod's librarians' glossary of terms used in librarianship, documentation and the bookcrafts and reference book.
Available in print: REF Z1006 .H377 1987
This title provides a selection of essays regarding public relations models, the profession, the effects of the internet, and best practices. An excellent title if you need some scholarly analysis of public relations issues and a starting place for a public relations research topic.
 
Dictionary for school library media specialists : a practical and comprehensive guide / Mary Maude McCain and Martha Merrill.
Available in print:  Z1006 .M43 2001
This title explains library concepts specifically for the field of school libraries.

Notable Titles

INFORMATION LITERACY & INSTRUCTION

To find books dealing with teaching information in a school setting search COAST using the subject heading "library orientation..."

Information Literacy for K-16 Settings / Lesley S.J. Farmer.
This website will provide basic groundwork for infusing information literacy into the curriculum at all educational levels.
 
Information Literacy and Workplace Performance, by Tom W. Goad (2002).
An easy to read guide that attends to basic skills, thinking and decision-making, creativity enhancement, innovation and risk taking, computer literacy, subject matter literacy, learning how to learn, and securement of on-the-job help. Goad discusses an unusual but highly relevant topic: how do we place work into the framework of our lives, and how can information literacy help?
 
Teaching Information Literacy Skills, by Patricia Iannuzzi, Charles T. Mangrum II and Stephen S. Strichart (1999).
This book has reproducible activities (for schools and higher education) to help students develop information literacy skills.
 
Information literacy and information skills instruction : applying research to practice in the school library media center / Nancy Pickering Thomas ; edited by Paula Kay Montgomery.
This book will help you with developing an instruction plan at the elementary school level.

Cooperative learning activities in the library media center / Lesley S.J. Farmer.
 
Internet Access In U.S. Public Schools 1994-2000 / NCES
This is a full text report on the internet that discusses access to the internet at public schools nation-wide.COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Library and Information Science Resources: Collection Development Sites This is part of the ACQ Web out of Vanderbilt.
Contains links for collection development of books as well as web resources.   Has a great link for finding book reviews online.

CSULB Children's Literature Research Guide
CSULB has a great selection of children's literature on the 5th floor.  Check out this guide created by John D'Amicantonio to see additional resources.


Collection Development Texts

Collection development for a new century in the school library media center / W. Bernard Lukenbill.

Censorship and selection : issues and answers for schools / Henry Reichman

Collection assessment and management for school libraries : preparing for cooperative collection development / Debra E. Kachel.

Guide to reference materials for school library media centers / Barbara Ripp Safford.

Selecting books for the elementary school library media center : a complete guide / Phyllis Van Orden.

Creating cyber libraries : an instructional guide for school library media specialists / Kathleen W. Craver.


Book Lists

Great books about things kids love : more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 / Kathleen Odean.

Building character through literature : a guide for middle school readers / Rosann Jweid, Margaret Rizzo.

Adventuring with books : a booklist for pre-K-grade 6 / Kathryn Mitchell Pierce, editor ; with Cathy Beck ... [et al.] and the Committee to Revise the Elementary School Booklist ; with a foreword by Jane Yolen.

Children's books from other countries / [sponsored by] United States Board on Books for Young People ; Carl M. Tomlinson, editor.

High interest easy reading : an annotated booklist for middle and senior high school / Patricia Phelan, editor, and the Committee to Revise High Interest Easy Reading of the National Council of Teachers of English.

Your reading : a booklist for junior high and middle school / C. Anne Webb, editor, Paul Hirth, associate editor, and the Committee on the Junior High and Middle School Booklist of the National Council of Teachers of English.